All About Us by Tom Ellen

Title: All About Us

Author: Tom Ellen

Pub date: 15th Oct 2020

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

Goodreads


One moment in time can change your life forever…

Ben’s always loved the month of December, but with his marriage to Daphne on the rocks, this year it’s missing its usual magic. So when his old flame Alice gets back in touch, Ben can’t help wonder: did he make the right choice all those years ago?

Yet everything changes one night when a twinkly-eyed stranger sells Ben a mysterious watch, the hands frozen at one minute to midnight. Opening his eyes the next morning, Ben is astonished to find that he has been catapulted back to 5th December 2005: the day he first kissed Daphne, leaving Alice behind.

Now Ben must make the biggest decision of his life, all over again. But this time around, will he finally find the courage to follow his heart?

All About Us is a deeply moving novel about love, loss and heartbreak – and how, with the help of a little magic, it’s never too late to find the one you’ve been searching for.

Continue reading

The Storyteller’s Daughter by Victoria McCombs #BookTour

Title: The Storyteller’s Daughter

Author: Victoria McCombs

Release Date: July 14th 2020

Rating: 3 out of 5.

This is a story of Cosette, giftless girl born into world full of gifts – a gift of music, turning apples into peaches, or gift like her father – storytelling. Her father can spin a tale so fascinating that everyone in the tavern listening may think those tales are true. All seems to be good until one of those stories imagines Cosette to have the most amazing gift – she can spin gold. The idea is so unbelievable, yet many people believe it and are cross with Cosette that she is not willing to share her gift with others. This lie brings her before the King, who is not taking no for an answer. In those circumstances, Cosette finds an ally that can help her survive.

The Storyteller’s Daughter is an intriguing read, I was quite quickly drawn into the characters, and I wanted to know what will happen. They all have their secrets and mysteries, and I was keen to find out the truth behind each of those characters. Cosette is a grat man character, she grows through the story and becomes more sure of herself. She even dares to disobey the King, which is unimaginable for a giftless girl from a poor family. Characters around her are not that well developed, but they all have something to them, some mystery that just keeps you engaged in the story,

It is an entertaining read, but sadly the final is disappointing. The final resolution to the mystery is not shown, we just learn about it from someone who been there. It was really anti-climactic and just too much of a sweet happy ending. Even though the book left me wanting more, I’m still content with the time I spent with it.

Continue reading

Unorthodox by Deborah Feldman

Title: Unorthodox: The scandalous rejection of my Hasidic roots

Author: Deborah Feldman

Published: 2012

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

Continue reading

The Codes of Love by Hannah Persaud

Title: The Codes of Love

Author: Hannah Persaud

Pub date: March 5th, 2020

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

Goodreads


Ryan and Emily appear to have it all, successful jobs, a beautiful house and the secret to a happy marriage. A secret that involves certain ‘rules’. But beneath the surface trouble is brewing in the shape of Ada. Whimsical, high-spirited and beholden to no-one, she represents the freedom that Emily’s been striving for and the escape that Ryan didn’t know he wanted.

Continue reading

The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell

Title: The Familiy Upstairs

Author: Lisa Jewell

Pub Date: August 2019

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone and Watching You comes another page-turning look inside one family’s past as buried secrets threaten to come to light.

Be careful who you let in.

Soon after her twenty-fifth birthday, Libby Jones returns home from work to find the letter she’s been waiting for her entire life. She rips it open with one driving thought: I am finally going to know who I am.

She soon learns not only the identity of her birth parents, but also that she is the sole inheritor of their abandoned mansion on the banks of the Thames in London’s fashionable Chelsea neighborhood, worth millions. Everything in Libby’s life is about to change. But what she can’t possibly know is that others have been waiting for this day as well—and she is on a collision course to meet them.

Twenty-five years ago, police were called to 16 Cheyne Walk with reports of a baby crying. When they arrived, they found a healthy ten-month-old happily cooing in her crib in the bedroom. Downstairs in the kitchen lay three dead bodies, all dressed in black, next to a hastily scrawled note. And the four other children reported to live at Cheyne Walk were gone.

In The Family Upstairs, the master of “bone-chilling suspense” (People) brings us the can’t-look-away story of three entangled families living in a house with the darkest of secrets.

Continue reading

Almost Adults by Ali Pantony

Title: Almost Adults

Author: Ali Pantony

Pub Date: June 2019

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads

The struggle is real…

Ever managed to kill a succulent after just a few days?
Got seven reminder letters on the kitchen table because you forgot to pay your council tax?
Become a hot mess who’s falling apart because they’ve been broken up with?

Nobody told Mackie, Edele, Alex and Nat (aka the MEAN Girls) that life was going to be this way. They’re busy navigating the joys of adulthood – getting their shit together, breaking up and making up, moving out and moving on. This grown up stuff is hard but at least they’ve got each other.

Welcome to the world of adulting.

Continue reading

Gross Anatomy by Mara Altman

Title: Gross Anatomy

Author: Mara Altman

Pub Date: 2018

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads

The timely, funny and deeply relatable essay collection that celebrates the wonder of the human body and introduces Mara Altman as the love child of Mindy Kaling and Mary Roach.

Mara Altman’s volatile and apprehensive relationship with her body has led her to wonder about a lot of stuff over the years. Like, who decided that women shouldn’t have body hair? And how sweaty is too sweaty? Also, why is breast cleavage sexy but camel toe revolting? Isn’t it all just cleavage? These questions and others like them have led to the comforting and sometimes smelly revelations that constitute Gross Anatomy, an essay collection about what it’s like to operate the bags of meat we call our bodies.

Divided into two sections, “The Top Half” and “The Bottom Half,” with cartoons scattered throughout, Altman’s book takes the reader on a wild and relatable journey from head to toe—as she attempts to strike up a peace accord with our grody bits.

With a combination of personal anecdotes and fascinating research, Gross Anatomy holds up a magnifying glass to our beliefs, practices, biases, and body parts and shows us the naked truth: that there is greatness in our grossness.

Continue reading