Love by Roddy Doyle

Title: Love

Author: Roddy Doyle

Pub Date: May 14th, 2020

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

‘A profound examination of friendship, romantic confusion and mortality’ John Boyne

One summer’s evening, two men meet up in a Dublin restaurant.

Old friends, now married and with grown-up children, their lives have taken seemingly similar paths. But Joe has a secret he has to tell Davy, and Davy, a grief he wants to keep from Joe. Both are not the men they used to be.

Neither Davy nor Joe know what the night has in store, but as two pints turns to three, then five, and the men set out to revisit the haunts of their youth, the ghosts of Dublin entwine around them. Their first buoyant forays into adulthood, the pubs, the parties, broken hearts and bungled affairs, as well as the memories of what eventually drove them apart.

As the two friends try to reconcile their versions of the past over the course of one night, Love offers up a delightfully comic, yet moving portrait of the many forms love can take throughout our lives.

Continue reading

Ensnared by J.S. Scott

Title: Ensnared

Series: The Accidental Billionaires

Author: J.S. Scott

Pub Date: October 2018

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

Love is worth a fortune in this sizzling novel of accidental romance and riches by New York Times bestselling author J.S. Scott.

Wildlife conservationist Jade Sinclair isn’t used to having money. But when she and her siblings learned they were part of the mega-rich Sinclair dynasty, they became billionaires overnight. Jade doesn’t even know how to act rich, especially when she’s dealing with an arrogant, privileged, unreasonably sexy snob like Eli Stone.

Unlike Jade, Eli grew up rich, and he just keeps getting richer. Eli is always looking for an adventure, and he’s found an inviting one in Jade—as resistant as she is irresistible. His less-than-honorable plan? Get her alone in the wilderness by buying out all the spots in her survival class.

Calling a truce, they strike a bargain: Jade will teach Eli basic survival skills, and he’ll teach her how to navigate the world of the wealthy elite. Jade has only one condition—she will not let herself be seduced by him. But some things are easier said than done…

Continue reading

The Beholder by Anna Bright

Title: The Beholder

Author: Anna Bright

Pub Date: June 4th 2019 

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

A lush, sweepingly romantic YA debut perfect for fans of The Selection or Caraval

Selah has waited her whole life for a happily ever after. As the only daughter of the leader of Potomac, she knows her duty is to find the perfect match, a partner who will help secure the future of her people. Now that day has finally come.

But after an excruciatingly public rejection from her closest childhood friend, Selah’s stepmother suggests an unthinkable solution: Selah must set sail across the Atlantic, where a series of potential suitors awaits—and if she doesn’t come home engaged, she shouldn’t come home at all.

From English castle gardens to the fjords of Norge, and under the eye of the dreaded Imperiya Yotne, Selah’s quest will be the journey of a lifetime. But her stepmother’s schemes aren’t the only secrets hiding belowdecks…and the stakes of her voyage may be higher than any happy ending.Lush landscapes, dazzling romance, and captivating intrigue mark the first leg of this stunning alternate historical duology with richly drawn characters and unexpected twists at every port.

Continue reading

The Incendiaries by R.O. Kwon

36679056Title: The Incendiaries

Author: R.O. Kwon

Pub Date: July 2018

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

A shocking novel of violence, love, faith, and loss, as a young woman at an elite American university is drawn into acts of domestic terrorism by a cult tied to North Korea.

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2018 by The New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, Elle, Time, Parade, Vanity Fair, Cosmopolitan, Esquire, PBS, Vulture, Buzzfeed, BookRiot, PopSugar, Refinery29, Bustle, The Rumpus, Paste, and BBC.

Phoebe Lin and Will Kendall meet their first month at prestigious Edwards University. Phoebe is a glamorous girl who doesn’t tell anyone she blames herself for her mother’s recent death. Will is a misfit scholarship boy who transfers to Edwards from Bible college, waiting tables to get by. What he knows for sure is that he loves Phoebe. 

Grieving and guilt-ridden, Phoebe is increasingly drawn into a religious group—a secretive extremist cult—founded by a charismatic former student, John Leal. He has an enigmatic past that involves North Korea and Phoebe’s Korean American family. Meanwhile, Will struggles to confront the fundamentalism he’s tried to escape, and the obsession consuming the one he loves. When the group bombs several buildings in the name of faith, killing five people, Phoebe disappears. Will devotes himself to finding her, tilting into obsession himself, seeking answers to what happened to Phoebe and if she could have been responsible for this violent act.

The Incendiaries is a fractured love story and a brilliant examination of the minds of extremist terrorists, and of what can happen to people who lose what they love most. who lose what they love most.

Continue reading

Call Me Zebra by Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi

 

33413934Title: Call Me Zebra

Author: Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi

Pub Date: February 2018

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

A feisty heroine’s quest to reclaim her past through the power of literature—even as she navigates the murkier mysteries of love.
 
Zebra is the last in a line of anarchists, atheists, and autodidacts. When war came, her family didn’t fight; they took refuge in books. Now alone and in exile, Zebra leaves New York for Barcelona, retracing the journey she and her father made from Iran to the United States years ago.
 
Books are Zebra’s only companions—until she meets Ludo. Their connection is magnetic; their time together fraught. Zebra overwhelms him with her complex literary theories, her concern with death, and her obsession with history. He thinks she’s unhinged; she thinks he’s pedantic. Neither are wrong; neither can let the other go. They push and pull their way across the Mediterranean, wondering with each turn if their love, or lust, can free Zebra from her past.

Continue reading

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen

29758021Title: Gone Without a Trace

Author: Mary Torjussen

Pub Date: March 23rd, 2017

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely…

You leave for work one morning.

Another day in your normal life.

Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone.
His belongings have disappeared.
He hasn’t been at work for weeks.
It’s as if he never existed.

But that’s not possible, is it?

And there is worse still to come.

Because just as you are searching for him
someone is also watching you.

Continue reading

An Indecent Proposal by Julia Ross

32933798Title: An Indecent Proposal

Author: Julia Ross

Pub Date: January 1st, 2017 (first published April, 15th 2014)

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads
Buy on Aria Fiction


Synopsis from Goodreads:

The sensual, disarming story of a love triangle and an indecent proposal… With a failed relationship behind her, 25 year old Sara decides she has nothing to lose and accepts a new job in Switzerland. Feeling lost in her new surroundings she’s befriended by her work colleges Leo and Oscar. Blue-eyed, fair-haired Leo is gentle and sensitive. Oscar, his best friend, is the opposite: dark-haired, brown-eyed, and direct to the point of brusqueness; to her surprise she feels strongly attracted to them both. They make her a proposition – a long, no strings attached weekend in Barcelona, going along with anything they suggest. But what happens in Spain leads Sara to find it impossible to keep to their agreement…

Continue reading