Call Me Zebra by Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi

 

33413934Title: Call Me Zebra

Author: Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi

Pub Date: February 2018

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

A feisty heroine’s quest to reclaim her past through the power of literature—even as she navigates the murkier mysteries of love.
 
Zebra is the last in a line of anarchists, atheists, and autodidacts. When war came, her family didn’t fight; they took refuge in books. Now alone and in exile, Zebra leaves New York for Barcelona, retracing the journey she and her father made from Iran to the United States years ago.
 
Books are Zebra’s only companions—until she meets Ludo. Their connection is magnetic; their time together fraught. Zebra overwhelms him with her complex literary theories, her concern with death, and her obsession with history. He thinks she’s unhinged; she thinks he’s pedantic. Neither are wrong; neither can let the other go. They push and pull their way across the Mediterranean, wondering with each turn if their love, or lust, can free Zebra from her past.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen

29758021Title: Gone Without a Trace

Author: Mary Torjussen

Pub Date: March 23rd, 2017

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely…

You leave for work one morning.

Another day in your normal life.

Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone.
His belongings have disappeared.
He hasn’t been at work for weeks.
It’s as if he never existed.

But that’s not possible, is it?

And there is worse still to come.

Because just as you are searching for him
someone is also watching you.

Continue reading

An Indecent Proposal by Julia Ross

32933798Title: An Indecent Proposal

Author: Julia Ross

Pub Date: January 1st, 2017 (first published April, 15th 2014)

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads
Buy on Aria Fiction


Synopsis from Goodreads:

The sensual, disarming story of a love triangle and an indecent proposal… With a failed relationship behind her, 25 year old Sara decides she has nothing to lose and accepts a new job in Switzerland. Feeling lost in her new surroundings she’s befriended by her work colleges Leo and Oscar. Blue-eyed, fair-haired Leo is gentle and sensitive. Oscar, his best friend, is the opposite: dark-haired, brown-eyed, and direct to the point of brusqueness; to her surprise she feels strongly attracted to them both. They make her a proposition – a long, no strings attached weekend in Barcelona, going along with anything they suggest. But what happens in Spain leads Sara to find it impossible to keep to their agreement…

Continue reading

The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer

31176886Title: The Chemist

Author: Stephenie Meyer

Pub Date: November 8th, 2016

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads
Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopis from Goodreads:

She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn’t even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning.

Now she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They’ve killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.

When her former handler offers her a way out, she realises it’s her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous.

Resolving to meet the threat head-on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of.

Continue reading

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Title: The Darkest Minds

Series: The Darkest Minds #1

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Pub Date: 2012

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on amazon.co.uk |amazon.com | Book Depository | Wordery


Synopis from Goodreads:

When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something frightening enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that got her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that had killed most of America’s children, but she and the others emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they could not control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones. When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. She is on the run, desperate to find the only safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who have escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents. When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at having a life worth living.

Continue reading

Losing It by Emma Rathbone

 

9780008206567_3b1bcTitle: Losing It

Author: Emma Rathbone

Pub Date: July 19th, 2016

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on amazon.co.uk |amazon.com | Book Depository


Oh, man… this was not what I expected. Let me put the blurb from Goodreads here; I will need this to make one point:

Twenty-six year old Julia Greenfield has long suspected that everyone is having fun without her.

It’s not that she’s unhappy, per se. It’s just that she’s not exactly happy either.

She hasn’t done anything spontaneous since about 2003. Shouldn’t she be running a start up? Or going backpacking? Or exploring uncharted erogenous zones with inappropriate men?

Trapped between news of her mother’s latent sexual awakening and her spinster aunt’s odd behaviour – Julia has finally snapped. It’s time to take some risks, and get a life.

After all – what has she got to lose?

Continue reading

My Favourite Manson Girl by Alison Umminger

My Favourite Manson GirlAuthor: Alison Umminger

Title: My Favourite Manson Girl / American Title: American Girls

Pub Date: June 7th, 2016

Honors:   

Rating: ★☆☆☆☆


It is a very average book. It is written as if it says about some major life dramas, but it is not. Some parts are very poetic or philosophical but those parts don’t make much sense in the story. The story is poorly constructed. Events and characters are presented in a mediocre way. You don’t really know them, in some books not truly knowing characters works, but not here. I felt like some plot parts were introduced and never really explored.

I think introducing part about the Manson Killings and Manson girls was meant to create some kind of twisted parade between those events and the current America and live of teen girls. I don’t see it, I don’t think Manson plot did anything for the book. Oh well, I’m wrong. It makes it sound interesting in in a blurb, the possibility of some thrilling story with Manson killings in the background. But it’s not it. Manson killings seem to just be an excuse to write the book, but after some thinking the author decided that maybe writing about then killing themselves was cliché or something, so she puts life of a teen girl as a main plotline.

Continue reading