99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne

36300625

Title: 99 Percent Mine

Author: Sally Thorne

Pub Date: January 29th, 2019

My Rating: ★★☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

Crush: a strong and often short-lived infatuation, particularly for someone beyond your reach…

Darcy Barrett has undertaken a global survey of men. She’s travelled the world, and can categorically say that no one measures up to Tom Valeska, whose only flaw is that Darcy’s twin brother Jamie saw him first and claimed him forever as his best friend. Despite Darcy’s best efforts, Tom’s off limits and loyal to her brother, 99%. That’s the problem with finding her dream man at age eight and peaking in her photography career at age twenty—ever since, she’s had to learn to settle for good enough.

When Darcy and Jamie inherit a tumble-down cottage from their grandmother, they’re left with strict instructions to bring it back to its former glory and sell the property. Darcy plans to be in an aisle seat halfway across the ocean as soon as the renovations start, but before she can cut and run, she finds a familiar face on her porch: house-flipper extraordinaire Tom’s arrived, he’s bearing power tools, and he’s single for the first time in almost a decade.

Suddenly Darcy’s considering sticking around to make sure her twin doesn’t ruin the cottage’s inherent magic with his penchant for grey and chrome. She’s definitely not staying because of her new business partner’s tight t-shirts, or that perfect face that’s inspiring her to pick up her camera again. Soon sparks are flying—and it’s not the faulty wiring. It turns out one percent of Tom’s heart might not be enough for Darcy anymore. This time around, she’s switching things up. She’s going to make Tom Valeska 99 percent hers.

Continue reading

Advertisements

The Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory

33815781

Title: The Wedding Date

Author: Jasmine Guillory

Pub Date: 2018

My Rating: ★★★★☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:
A groomsman and his last-minute guest are about to discover if a fake date can go the distance in a fun and flirty debut novel.
Agreeing to go to a wedding with a guy she gets stuck with in an elevator is something Alexa Monroe wouldn’t normally do. But there’s something about Drew Nichols that’s too hard to resist.
On the eve of his ex’s wedding festivities, Drew is minus a plus one. Until a power outage strands him with the perfect candidate for a fake girlfriend…
After Alexa and Drew have more fun than they ever thought possible, Drew has to fly back to Los Angeles and his job as a pediatric surgeon, and Alexa heads home to Berkeley, where she’s the mayor’s chief of staff. Too bad they can’t stop thinking about the other…
They’re just two high-powered professionals on a collision course toward the long distance dating disaster of the century–or closing the gap between what they think they need and what they truly want…

Continue reading

The Rise and Fall of Becky Sharp by Sarra Manning

37281873Title: The Rise and Fall of Becky Sharp

Author: Sarra Manning

Pub Date: September 2018

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

A hilarious contemporary retelling of the classic society novel, Vanity Fair, featuring the irrepressible Becky Sharp

Beautiful, brilliant, ruthless – nothing can stop Becky Sharp.

Determined to leave her poverty-stricken roots behind her, Becky Sharp is going to take every opportunity offered to her to climb to the top. Whether it’s using her new BFF Amelia Sedley to step up into the rarified world of London’s upper classes, or seducing society’s most eligible bachelors, Becky Sharp is destined for great things – at any cost..

From London to Paris and beyond, the world is there for Becky’s taking – even though some people are determined to stop her along the way…

Continue reading

Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling by Emer McLysaght, Sarah Breen

39718833Title: Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling: Just a Small-Town Girl Living in a Notions World

Author: Emer McLysaght, Sarah Breen

Pub Date: 2017

My Rating: ★★★★☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

Aisling is twenty-eight and she’s a complete … Aisling. She lives at home in Ballygobbard (or Ballygobackwards, as some gas tickets call it) with her parents and commutes to her good job at PensionsPlus in Dublin.

Aisling goes out every Saturday night with her best friend Majella, who is a bit of a hames (she’s lost two phones already this year – Aisling has never lost a phone).

Aisling spends two nights a week at her boyfriend John’s. He’s from down home and was kiss number seventeen at her twenty-first.

But Aisling wants more. She wants the ring on her finger. She wants the hen with the willy straws. She wants out of her parents’ house, although she’d miss Mammy turning on the electric blanket like clockwork and Daddy taking her car ‘out for a spin’ and bringing it back full of petrol.

When a week in Tenerife with John doesn’t end with the expected engagement, Aisling calls a halt to things and soon she has surprised herself and everyone else by agreeing to move into a three-bed in Portobello with stylish Sadhbh from HR and her friend, the mysterious Elaine.

Newly single and relocated to the big city, life is about to change utterly for this wonderful, strong, surprising and funny girl, who just happens to be a complete Aisling.

Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen, the creators of the much-loved Aisling character and the popular Facebook page ‘Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling’, bring Aisling to life in their novel about the quintessential country girl in the big smoke.

Continue reading

Hello, Sunshine by Laura Dave

27274420Title: Hello, Sunshine

Author: Laura Dave

Pub Date: July 11th, 2017

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

From Laura Dave—the author of the “addictive” (Us Weekly), “winning” (Publishers Weekly) and critically acclaimed bestseller Eight Hundred Grapes—comes a new novel about the secrets we keep…even from ourselves.

Sunshine Mackenzie has it all…until her secrets come to light.

Sunshine Mackenzie is living the dream—she’s a culinary star with millions of fans, a line of #1 bestselling cookbooks, and a devoted husband happy to support her every endeavor.

And then she gets hacked.

When Sunshine’s secrets are revealed, her fall from grace is catastrophic. She loses the husband, her show, the fans, and her apartment. She’s forced to return to the childhood home—and the estranged sister—she’s tried hard to forget. But what Sunshine does amid the ashes of her own destruction may well save her life.

In a world where celebrity is a careful construct, Hello, Sunshine is a compelling, funny, and evocative novel about what it means to live an authentic life in an inauthentic age.

Continue reading

Losing It by Emma Rathbone

 

9780008206567_3b1bcTitle: Losing It

Author: Emma Rathbone

Pub Date: July 19th, 2016

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on amazon.co.uk |amazon.com | Book Depository


Oh, man… this was not what I expected. Let me put the blurb from Goodreads here; I will need this to make one point:

Twenty-six year old Julia Greenfield has long suspected that everyone is having fun without her.

It’s not that she’s unhappy, per se. It’s just that she’s not exactly happy either.

She hasn’t done anything spontaneous since about 2003. Shouldn’t she be running a start up? Or going backpacking? Or exploring uncharted erogenous zones with inappropriate men?

Trapped between news of her mother’s latent sexual awakening and her spinster aunt’s odd behaviour – Julia has finally snapped. It’s time to take some risks, and get a life.

After all – what has she got to lose?

Continue reading

667 Ways to F*ck Up My Life by Lucy Woodhull

30896288Title: 667 Ways to F*ck Up My Life

Authors: Lucy Woodhull

Pub Date: August 16th, 2016

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on  amazon.co.uk |amazon.com


 I rarely choose a typical chick-lit with a woman chasing a man as my read. I prefer to watch romantic comedies, not read them. But the blurb said that this is a great book for fans of Broad City and Bridget Jones, so I decided to give it a try. And I stand with my initial preferences – I’d rather watch a 1.5h movie with the same plot than read the book. But I still quite enjoyed reading the book, so I gave it three stars – it’s not bad, and it’s not great, and I’ll probably forget all about it soon.

Dagmar Kostopoulos is having the worst day – she just got fired from a publishing job because she didn’t want to have sex with her boss (someone else wanted, and now she’s taking over Dag’s job), her boyfriend told her he just got a great job in L.A., and he’s moving there, without her, also, he cheated on her. Continue reading