Hello, Sunshine by Laura Dave

27274420Title: Hello, Sunshine

Author: Laura Dave

Pub Date: July 11th, 2017

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

From Laura Dave—the author of the “addictive” (Us Weekly), “winning” (Publishers Weekly) and critically acclaimed bestseller Eight Hundred Grapes—comes a new novel about the secrets we keep…even from ourselves.

Sunshine Mackenzie has it all…until her secrets come to light.

Sunshine Mackenzie is living the dream—she’s a culinary star with millions of fans, a line of #1 bestselling cookbooks, and a devoted husband happy to support her every endeavor.

And then she gets hacked.

When Sunshine’s secrets are revealed, her fall from grace is catastrophic. She loses the husband, her show, the fans, and her apartment. She’s forced to return to the childhood home—and the estranged sister—she’s tried hard to forget. But what Sunshine does amid the ashes of her own destruction may well save her life.

In a world where celebrity is a careful construct, Hello, Sunshine is a compelling, funny, and evocative novel about what it means to live an authentic life in an inauthentic age.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Losing It by Emma Rathbone

 

9780008206567_3b1bcTitle: Losing It

Author: Emma Rathbone

Pub Date: July 19th, 2016

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on amazon.co.uk |amazon.com | Book Depository


Oh, man… this was not what I expected. Let me put the blurb from Goodreads here; I will need this to make one point:

Twenty-six year old Julia Greenfield has long suspected that everyone is having fun without her.

It’s not that she’s unhappy, per se. It’s just that she’s not exactly happy either.

She hasn’t done anything spontaneous since about 2003. Shouldn’t she be running a start up? Or going backpacking? Or exploring uncharted erogenous zones with inappropriate men?

Trapped between news of her mother’s latent sexual awakening and her spinster aunt’s odd behaviour – Julia has finally snapped. It’s time to take some risks, and get a life.

After all – what has she got to lose?

Continue reading

667 Ways to F*ck Up My Life by Lucy Woodhull

30896288Title: 667 Ways to F*ck Up My Life

Authors: Lucy Woodhull

Pub Date: August 16th, 2016

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on  amazon.co.uk |amazon.com


 I rarely choose a typical chick-lit with a woman chasing a man as my read. I prefer to watch romantic comedies, not read them. But the blurb said that this is a great book for fans of Broad City and Bridget Jones, so I decided to give it a try. And I stand with my initial preferences – I’d rather watch a 1.5h movie with the same plot than read the book. But I still quite enjoyed reading the book, so I gave it three stars – it’s not bad, and it’s not great, and I’ll probably forget all about it soon.

Dagmar Kostopoulos is having the worst day – she just got fired from a publishing job because she didn’t want to have sex with her boss (someone else wanted, and now she’s taking over Dag’s job), her boyfriend told her he just got a great job in L.A., and he’s moving there, without her, also, he cheated on her. Continue reading

Cover of book Modern Lovers by Emma Straub

Modern Lovers by Emma Straub

emma straubTitle: Modern Lovers

Author: Emma Straub

Pub Dates: US May 31, 2016 | UK June 30, 2016

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Honors:  

View on Goodreads | Buy on Amazon | Book Depository


If you are looking for an easy summer read – don’t be bother by my review. Because if you are looking for an easy breezy read for a beach – this is your choice. The story takes place during the summer, and it just adds this nice feeling to a summer reading. You might even find this book humorous, like the book blurb is trying to convince us, but don’t expect laugh-out-loud humour. Plus, the cover is a beauty and will coordinate with your swimsuit perfectly!

I finished this book so angry! And it’s not the good kind of angry that happens when you upset because author messed with your head and now you don’t know what to do with your life after finishing the book. It was the wrong kind of angry. The whole time I was being fooled into thinking that this life exists and that this book shows some deeper meaning into the life of family, that it demonstrates how life might look like when troubles appear. But there is no way that all the stuff that happened in the book could happen in real life like that. I refuse to believe it. And because of that, I felt cheated.

Continue reading

In Twenty Years by Allison Win Scotch book cover

REVIEW: In Twenty Years by Allison Winn Scotch

9781503935242_86a53Title: In Twenty Years

Author: Allison Winn Scotch

Pub Date: July 1st, 2016

Rating: ★★★☆☆

See on Goodreads


You might want to pretend you can reinvent yourself; you might want to give yourself that chance to wash it away into blank pace, but you can’t. The past doesn’t change. That history doesn’t change. You don’t change unless you swim so hard upstream that you’re lucky not to exhaust yourself into drowning. It’s no surprise that no one else changes neither. […]
The past is who you are. The future is what you do with that.

This is a reunion story. First, we meet a group of six friends on the last day of their college life – Bea, a leader of the group, is making them all to write up a letter to older self, a letter that they will read again in 20 years. Then we fast forward almost two decades from that day. Now everything is completely different than the life of twenty-something college students that thought that everything is possible and that they will be friends, a family forever.

Continue reading