Free to fall

When we first meet North, I was a bit put off by his attitude. He was against the mainstream usage of Lux seemingly without any reason. The usage of Lux was normalized and took over the world, so sarcastic attitude towards it seemed off, and I didn’t like it. He had his chosen lifestyle and Rory had her, and I felt like he was feeling superior to other people who use Lux to make decisions. His overall attitude is condescending, but Rory likes him anyway and a romance quickly flourishes. Too quickly for my liking. Everything is way too intense way to quickly, and the words of love and sacrifice for others cause are declared after only few meetings.

The author also falls into common tropes of wealth girl, who gets into prestigious school because of her wealth, uses makeup, flirts and is a total opposite of our main character, who is not rich and slightly self conscious about her body. However, all this was quickly overshadowed by and amazing intrigue. Rory bit by bit finds out more about her mother’s history and is on her way to find out a disturbing truth behind the app Lux. The story is fascinating and fast paced. I was hooked on the story and it was hard to put down.

The story of society addicted to their devices and being dependent on an app to make any decision in their life is a scary vision and not something that is absolutely unimaginable. We are more and more dependent on the contact access to internet with its unending supply of information and entertainment. It’s only a matter of time before some company attempts to ‘ease’ our life from the burden of making decisions. Hopefully it will not turn out like in the book.

Advertisements

The Beholder by Anna Bright

Title: The Beholder

Author: Anna Bright

Pub Date: June 4th 2019 

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

A lush, sweepingly romantic YA debut perfect for fans of The Selection or Caraval

Selah has waited her whole life for a happily ever after. As the only daughter of the leader of Potomac, she knows her duty is to find the perfect match, a partner who will help secure the future of her people. Now that day has finally come.

But after an excruciatingly public rejection from her closest childhood friend, Selah’s stepmother suggests an unthinkable solution: Selah must set sail across the Atlantic, where a series of potential suitors awaits—and if she doesn’t come home engaged, she shouldn’t come home at all.

From English castle gardens to the fjords of Norge, and under the eye of the dreaded Imperiya Yotne, Selah’s quest will be the journey of a lifetime. But her stepmother’s schemes aren’t the only secrets hiding belowdecks…and the stakes of her voyage may be higher than any happy ending.Lush landscapes, dazzling romance, and captivating intrigue mark the first leg of this stunning alternate historical duology with richly drawn characters and unexpected twists at every port.

Continue reading

Don’t Touch My Hair by Emma Dabiri

Title: Don’t Touch My Hair

Author: Emma Dabiri

Pub Date: May 2nd 2019

My Rating: ★★★★☆

View on Goodreads

Straightened. Stigmatised. ‘Tamed’. Celebrated. Erased. Managed. Appropriated. Forever misunderstood. Black hair is never ‘just hair’.

This book is about why black hair matters.

Emma Dabiri takes us from pre-colonial Africa, through the Harlem Renaissance, Black Power and on to today’s Natural Hair Movement, the Cultural Appropriation Wars and beyond. We look at everything from hair capitalists like Madam C.J. Walker in the early 1900s to the rise of Shea Moisture today, from women’s solidarity and friendship to ‘black people time’, forgotten African scholars and the dubious provenance of Kim Kardashian’s braids.

The scope of black hairstyling ranges from pop culture to cosmology, from prehistoric times to the (afro)futuristic. Uncovering sophisticated indigenous mathematical systems in black hairstyles, alongside styles that served as secret intelligence networks leading enslaved Africans to freedom, Don’t Touch My Hair proves that far from being only hair, black hairstyling culture can be understood as an allegory for black oppression and, ultimately, liberation.

Continue reading