Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

33224064Title: Into the Water

Author: Paula Hawkins

Pub Date: May 2nd, 2017

My Rating: ★★☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

Into the Water is the incredible new standalone thriller from Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train. Published in over forty languages and now a No. 1 box office hit film starring Emily Blunt, The Girl on the Train is a global phenomenon.

With the same propulsion that captivated millions of readers worldwide in The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins unfurls a gripping, twisting, layered story set in a small riverside town. Once again Hawkins demonstrates her powerful understanding of human instincts and the damage they can inflict.

Into the Water is an addictive novel of psychological suspense about the slipperiness of the truth, and a family drowning in secrets.

This will be a hard review to write… I’m curious what other people think of this book, so if you’ve reviewed this book please make sure to leave a link to your review.

Into the Water is the biggest disappointment of the year so far for me. It was slow, really boring at times, confusing, and the ending was just hopeless. What a waste of time it was. I had to force myself to read this book, I wanted to finish just to see how it will all end, but the time with the book was not enjoyable. One of the things that annoyed me, and made reading the book bit confusing and annoying, was the constant change of POV and writing from the first or third person perspective. There were just too many characters, too many POV. It was a mess.

I don’t even feel like going into the whole mystery part. I wasn’t into it, I wasn’t that curious about who did what and why. I was secretly hoping that finally, something big and significant will happen, that will push this story and make it more exciting. But nothing happened. We were slowly, slowly drifting towards the end of the book, and when we finally got the bank of the river, it was just a gentle bump and we got our answer. And sometimes this slowness can be as exciting as an action movie, but not in this case.

There were some interesting feminist tones. Especially the relationships between women, and how they all seemed to have very similar problems but were not able to communicate it with each other. And it all lead to more and more conflicts. The whole book is women focused – most of the characters are women, and the mystery involves one of the most mysterious women among them.

 To sum it all up, the book has its moments but overall it’s all really boring and unimpressive. I wouldn’t recommend it.

4 thoughts on “Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

  1. Jolien @ The Fictional Reader says:

    Great review! I was wondering whether I should pick this one up, because I wasn’t impressed at all by The Girl on the Train. Reading your review, I think I’ll just skip this one. I already thought The Girl on the Train was slow and boring, and you mentioned that this one is as well. I’ll just pass on this one, then. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

