Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen

29758021Title: Gone Without a Trace

Author: Mary Torjussen

Pub Date: March 23rd, 2017

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely…

You leave for work one morning.

Another day in your normal life.

Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone.
His belongings have disappeared.
He hasn’t been at work for weeks.
It’s as if he never existed.

But that’s not possible, is it?

And there is worse still to come.

Because just as you are searching for him
someone is also watching you.

It wasn’t a good story. It had it good points toward the end, but before we even get to the fairly good points we have to endure excruciatingly annoying story, with so many weak story points that I’d be surprised if many people will even get to end of the story. If I didn’t get review copy of the book, I would definitely dnf it.

The premise of the story is fascinating – imagine you’re coming back to your home expecting to see your partner there to celebrate happy news with you. Instead of that you get empty house without any trace that your partner ever lived there. Nothing left of him, even his condiments are gone from a fridge. What happened to him? Where is he? This happened to our protagonist Hannah. She’s hurt and confused. She cannot contact Matt, because he successfully deleted every single trace of him on social media and on Hannah’s phone and laptop.

From there the story follows Hannah as she desperately tries to find Matt. At first it’s understandable that she’s looking for him, but after some time all the reasons the author gives us are starting to fade, and I was starting to get really annoyed with Hannah actions, I couldn’t understand her and her motivations. She was going mental with her chase. And her relationship with best friend Katie and her boyfriend James (who happens to be Hannah’s ex-boyfriend) was not helping anything. It wasn’t helping me to understand Hannah and her motivations better. It just made the whole thing worse. Her friendship with Katie was extremely unhealthy, the jealousy and hatred so strong between them.

At 80% point we are given most of the answers. We learn what was going on, and we can understand some of the unreasonable actions of characters. But it wasn’t so shocking. It wasn’t mind blowing. It was a weak attempt at psychological thriller.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s