The Mother of All Questions by Rebecca Solnit

Title: The Mother of All Questions: Further Reports from the Feminist Revolutions

Author: Rebecca Solnit

Pub Date: March 14th, 2017

My Rating: ★★★★★

View on Goodreads
Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopis from Goodreads:

In a timely and incisive follow-up to her national bestseller Men Explain Things to Me, Rebecca Solnit offers sharp commentary on women who refuse to be silenced, misogynistic violence, the fragile masculinity of the literary canon, the gender binary, the recent history of rape jokes, and much more.

In characteristic style, Solnit mixes humor, keen analysis, and sharp insight in these eleven essays.

 I absolutely loved Solnit’s Man Explain Things to Me, it was an excellent collection of essays. So when I heard that there is a follow-up collection, I had to read it. And this one is as excellent as the previous book. All the essays are thought-provoking, they definitely enriched me as a person. I learned a lot and I looked at some issues differently. The book is not only great for feminist, but also for readers who will definitely find the essays about literature, masculinity and femininity fascinating and elevating. The first essay, the essay about silence is definitely most powerful and my personal favourite. I never though how much silence and speaking up can mean and how much power comes from who can speak and who cannot. It’s a book that I will come back to. Highly recommended!
Leave a Reply

