A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

28588061

Title: A Monster Calls

Author: Patrick Ness

Pub Date: 2011

My Rating: ★★☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopsis from Goodreads:

An unflinching, darkly funny, and deeply moving story of a boy, his seriously ill mother, and an unexpected monstrous visitor.

At seven minutes past midnight, thirteen-year-old Conor wakes to find a monster outside his bedroom window. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting– he’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments. The monster in his backyard is different. It’s ancient. And wild. And it wants something from Conor. Something terrible and dangerous. It wants the truth. From the final idea of award-winning author Siobhan Dowd– whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herself– Patrick Ness has spun a haunting and darkly funny novel of mischief, loss, and monsters both real and imagined.

A Monster Calls is a really popular book, and with the movie recently the interest around the book reviewed. So I decided to finally read it and find out what the fuss is about. And what can I say, I get what the fuss is about, but I’m not feeling it.

The story is I’d say objectively beautiful, with an important message delivered in a smart and unique way that works with your imagination. But it’s not the kind of story that moved me. I think I’d enjoy this book way more when I was younger and my sensibility was different. Righ now, I didn’t feel the story, it didn’t move me. I liked it, but it didn’t move me. I couldn’t connect to the main character, Connor. In a book that focuses on strong emotions like this one, if you’re not connected with the MC, it’s hard to feel the book and its message.

It is a good book that plenty before me enjoyed and much more will love. I urge you to read it and find out for yourself what you think about it. It’s a quick read. But there was not spark, and I’m left feeling ‘meh’ about this book. I hope this book will find its way to people, especially teens, at the moment when they need it most. I hope they will call the monster and he will come.

5 thoughts on “A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

  1. Books, Vertigo and Tea says:

    Wow what an honest review! This one really hit hard for me. It might have resonated more since I am a mother going through my own battle, but it is always nice to see such conflicting viewpoints. I love comparing the different impacts titles have on each of us. And for not connecting, you still wrote a very nice piece.

    Like

  2. bookreviews5blog says:

    I haven’t read this yet but my friend has and we went to see the film together and she said she enjoyed the film so much more which is really surprising. Great review😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michelle says:

    Great review 💕
    When I first read this I was expected to be blown away, but just like you I had difficulty connecting with Connor and that just made it hard to feel any emotion towards him or his situation. I also feel like I might have enjoyed it more had I been younger 😊

    Like

  4. TeacherofYA says:

    Hey, sometimes we love what others don’t and vice versa. I haven’t had the urge to read this but maybe I should because I do hear a lot about it. I wonder if I’ll feel the same way as you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

