The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

Title: The Princess Saves Herself in this One

Author: Amanda Lovelace

Pub Date: February 14th 2017 by Andrews McMeel Publishing (first self-published April 23rd 2016)

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads
Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopis from Goodreads:

the princess saves herself in this one is a collection of poetry about resilience. It is about writing your own ending.

From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration.

This poem collection is a perfect example of poetry in time of internet. Those poems are not complicated, there are no big words, sophisticated constructions. Those poems are simple, they are easy to understand and to feel. And this is the perfect poetry for me, because I want simple, I want something I can understand immediately, something I can feel, not interpret.
In case of collection of poems, it would be very hard for me to find one that I could rate more than three starts. Because I think it will be impossible for me to love the whole collections so much. I loved few poems, I liked and enjoyed some more, but half of them didn’t speak to me. For me, this is the beauty of poetry – you can always find something for yourself. In every collection, it is highly probable that there will be this one gem that speaks to you, no matter how awful other poems were.
the princess saves herself in this one is an amazing collection that many will love. And many already did love it, because after it was self published, it was so successful that publisher picked it up. Amazing! Well done author and publisher 🙂
8 thoughts on “The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

  1. Marta says:

    I’ve been wanting to read this for some time, but it’s always unavailable when I want to buy it :/ Maybe now that a publisher picked it up, I’ll see it on BD more often. I’m glad you liked it! I’ve seen some poems on Twitter through pictures, and they all seemed really cool. There are a couple that already caught my attention 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

