Bitter Sweet Love by Michael Faudet

Title: Bitter Sweet Love

Author: Michael Faudet

Pub Date: October 25th, 2016

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads
Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopis from Goodreads:

Bitter Sweet Love is the much-anticipated second collection of internationally best-selling poet Michael Faudet, author of Dirty Pretty Things, a finalist in the 2015 Goodreads Readers Choice Awards.

Michael Faudet’s whimsical and often erotic writing has captured the hearts and minds of literally thousands of readers from around the world. He paints vivid pictures with intricate words and explores the compelling themes of love, loss, relationships, and sex. All beautifully captured in poetry, prose, quotes, and little short stories.

 Bitter Sweet Love is a collection of poems and verses about love, sex, need. I didn’t like all of the parts, and I doubt that anyone will love every single work in this book. But everyone will find at least one thing that will speak to them. That will move them. That will make them feel. I did find bits that did that to me, that I loved, and re-read and re-read. I especially loved the single sentences, that were so powerful. Just a collection of words put together, but they have such an amazing power.

I still hold a grudge toward poetry. The pain of interpreting poems in school, and somehow being wrong about how you feel about a poem is still in me. But I decided to give a poetry a try. I didn’t have to interpret anything. I didn’t have to write essays on anything. I just had to read, and feel. I did just that, and it was surprisingly enjoyable. Poems in this collection aren’t complicated, they are about universal feelings of love, loss and desire. I would definitely recommend this collection to anyone who is trying to love poetry because this collection is not only poems, there are also short stories, verses that we are used to and know how to love. But they all are lyrical and beautiful.

3 thoughts on “Bitter Sweet Love by Michael Faudet

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Great review, Ola. I think I’ll definitely check this one out! It took me a while to get into poetry, but now I love it!! Have you read milk and honey or the princess saves herself in this one? They’re two favourites of mine that I read this year!

    Like

  2. Esther @ Chapter Adventures says:

    I also reviewed and rated this collection recently (also gave it 3 stars) and I agree that my favorite parts were sometimes just sentences that were very powerful, rather than the short stories or longer poems.
    I wasn’t a fan of poetry until last year when I finally decided to give it chance and I’m really glad I did. I’ve enjoyed many collections this year 😊 The Universe of Us by Lang Leav (who is, I believe, Michael Faudet’s partner) was incredible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

