Paper Princess by Erin Watt

Title: Paper Princess

Series: The Royals #1

Author: Erin Watt

Pub Date: April 4th, 2016

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads
Buy on Book Depository | Wordery


Synopis from Goodreads:

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.

I was looking for some easy read, something I could forgive for being silly because it’s entertaining. So I decided to give this book a go. It’s young/new adult romance. It’s not a type of book I will read often, but for time to time, I just want to read some silly romance story, with beautiful and rich people and their problems.

Even though I was starting this book with low expectations, it wasn’t easy for me to get into it. Because the story is just so crazy. I couldn’t stop rolling my eyes, and that was preventing me from reading the book and enjoying it. After a while, I finally got rid of my need to read a well-written story that makes sense. I let it go and started enjoying it more.

Paper Princess is a story of a poor seventeen-year-old girl, that lost her mother, never met her father, and now strips to support herself. One day, out of nowhere, a ‘knight in a shiny armour on a white horse’, that is Callum Royal, shows up and tells her that he’s her legal guardian. Like, wtf? How some random dude, who we later learn that was Ella’s father best friend now become Ella’s legal guardian. Is that legally possible? Seems odd. Anyway, after some struggle on Ella’s part, she finally agrees to talk to Callum and start her new life living as a Royal. Callum proposed her that if only she agrees to live with him, go to school, graduate he will be paying her ten grand a month. She only has to have a good and easy life. This whole thing is quite ridiculous and I don’t feel like going into details. Anyway, after Ella agrees, and Callum takes her on his private plane to his mansion, she meets all the Royal brothers, Callum’s sons. They all super handsome, and most handsome of them all is Reed. Mysterious, angry. Especially angry, because all Royal brothers absolutely hate Ella from the moment she steps through their doors.

The story follows quite predictable from there, Ella is the new girl in an elite rich kids high school, she cannot find friends, but she doesn’t care about it because she went through some serious shit in her life and she doesn’t care about those all rich, spoiled brats. She finds a friend anyway. She’s super hot, and she can dance. All Royal brothers warm their feeling toward her, she has a crush on one of them, but she doesn’t want to admit it because she cannot stand him. Ok, the one she likes is of course Reed. You totally can expect that from the beginning.

The apple is dangling in front of me, juicy red and delicious, but, like the fairy tale, Reed Royal is the villain disguised as a pretty prince. Taking a bite out of him would be a huge mistake.

Nothing new. But is still quite enjoyable anyway. It’s a simple story, with enough of surprises and hot scenes, that you can simply enjoy it. And maybe my review is not highlighting the best parts of the book. But that doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy it. It was just what I needed to read at that time.

3 thoughts on “Paper Princess by Erin Watt

  1. Chiqui @ YA Lit Reads says:

    LOL honestly this sounds exactly like the type of book I would read if I just want a guilty pleasure read! I was mostly curious about this book because of the cover tbh, it’s so pretty in that simple way~

    Like

  2. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Great review, Ola! I read this one a few months back and enjoyed it for the reasons you did: just a simple, fun, brainless story. I think I did have an easier time than you, though – it reminded me so much of the Asian dramas I used to watch as a teen, and they’re also SO ridiculous so I just slipped into that mode quite seamlessly. Are you going to continue on with the series? 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

