BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Mental Health

It’s Book Traveling Thursday! It is a weekly meme hosted by Catia and Danielle. At the beginning of each month, they post a list of weekly themes. After choosing a book that fits the theme, you look at different covers of various editions and write your blog post with the original cover, the covers from your country, your favourite cover, and your least favourite cover. To find out more check out Goodreads group!

This week’s theme is: Because Mental Health matters! Choose a book that deals with mental health. This is a very important topic, and here where I live, an often overlooked topic. Books that deal with this topic are of interest to me, but I always need to know if the mental disorder is portrayed truthfully. One of the main things that annoy me immensely are stories of people that are ‘cured’ of their mental disorder because they find a boyfriend or girlfriend, that this new love and relationship is canceling out any fear or problem the person had before. The recovery from mental illness cannot be put so simply like that. The book I decided to feature this week is The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer. In America it was published under title ‘Where the Moon Isn’t’

Blurb from goodreads:

‘I’ll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name’s Simon. I think you’re going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he’ll be dead. And he was never the same after that.’

Debut novel about one man’s descent into mental illness, following the death of his brother in childhood. Filer is a mental health nurse with a unique and startling insight into mental illness, and this book highlights a much-neglected subject.

– ORIGINAL COVER –

I’m not sure which one is the original one.

– COVER FROM POLAND –

421892-352x500

– FAVOURITE COVER –

– LEAST FAVOURITE COVER –

8 thoughts on “BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Mental Health

  1. ChicNerdReads says:

    This book is on my TBR and all I hear are great things. I love the original covers the most. I like that today’s topic surrounds mental health, it’s so important! And I agree with you about books using romance to “heal” mental illness, it just doesn’t really work that way in real life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

