TOP TEN TUESDAY: All About The Villains

This weekly meme was created by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme is  All About The Villains — I don’t think we’ve done a villains topic since back in November 2010 so let’s revisit: top ten favorite/most compelling villains in books, top ten of the most vile villains/bad guys in books, top ten villains I secretly (or not so secretly) love, favorite tv villains, favorite comic book villains, ten “villains” of contemporary lit.

I decided to work on a list of greatest villains, characters I had strong emotional angry reactions to while reading books. And they aren’t many of those as I remember.

My list presents the greatest villains from some of the amazing books I read. I had strong emotional angry reactions when reading about them and their actions.


Illuminae
by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff

View on Goodreads

Villain: AIDAN

From my reviewThis may become my favourite villain. Aidan is an AI – Artifical Intelligence. I was not expecting AI to become a villain, and to be so humane, and inhumane at the same time. His voice in the audiobook was perfectly unemotional, and it was so irritating to listen to him, I wanted to punch him, to scream at him. Impressive character, and unique one.

Harry Potter
by J.K. Rowling

Villains: Lord Voldemort, Dolores Umbridge, Bellatrix Lestrange

Harry Potter books have an impressive list of villains that we all hated, but those three are on my most hated list.

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
by Stieg Larsson

Published September 16th 2008 by Knopf

Villain: Nils Bjurman

A disgusting human being. He is a guardian of Lisbeth, and is only allowing her access to her funds after he forces her to perform a sexual act. Lisbeth’s revenge  on him is one of most cruelly satisfying ones, and very horrifying.

 


That would be it. I cannot think of any more characters that were so evil and greatly created characters. Any villain you think I should read about?


Buy books on Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com | Book Depository | Wordery

24 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: All About The Villains

  1. Holly says:

    AIDAN creeped my out SO MUCH when I read Illuminae! I kept imagining this robot voice in my head whenever it spoke and not knowing whether or not I could trust it was painful. I get shivers down my spine just thinking about it!

    Like

  2. Esther @ Chapter Adventures says:

    Nils Bjurman was disgusting!! I can’t believe I forgot about him. I hated him so so much. I didn’t read the Illuminae bit because I think it might be spoilery? I’m not sure. And all of Harry Potter villains were pretty memorable. I would even consider Rita Skeeter as one of my most hated characters (hated because she was evil, not because she was a bad character).

    On a side note, you put on the header for Book Traveling Thursdays instead of Top Ten Tuesday πŸ˜› I got so scared when I saw it because I thought the week had flown by haha

    Like

  3. Nicole @ booksinked says:

    Adian. I should have added him to my list but yes, I was so pissed off with the choices he have made and he’s an AI!

    Like

    • Ola says:

      He was soo annoying. I was listening to audiobook, and he had this inhumane voice and that was just making me more angry. I might not have been so annoyed with him if it wasn’t for the voice!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Mari says:

    Haha, Umbridge seems to be making more lists than Moldy Voldy, though I suppose for good reason. She got me loads angry on one book alone (well, a book and a half), whereas Voldemort just felt like a gnat that needed to be swatted but left alone until it got too gigantic in the end. Okay, I think I got away with the analogy…

    I’m currently reading An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, and already I’m thinking the Commandant as one of the villains I’d put on my top list of those who get me angry.

    Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

