Mini Reviews of Humorous Books

29431095Title: Man, I Hate Cursive: Cartoons for People and Advanced Bears

Author: Jim Benton

Pub date: October 18th, 2016

My rating: ★★★★☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on amazon.co.uk |amazon.com | Book Depository


Fantastic collection of comic strips. Each of them will make you chuckle, and at the same time will make you realize that the world can be a lonely and cruel place, and some of those strips are coming from a somber place. But dealing with this sadness with those comics strips will brighten your day. I wanted to share so many of those comics strips with my friends, because they say something that I cannot say, but I feel and understand.

Two of my favourite strips (majority of the book are my favourite strips):


25870476Title: How to Speak Emoji

Author: Fred Benenson

Pub date:  September 6th, 2015

My rating: ★★☆☆☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on amazon.co.uk |amazon.com | Book Depository


I do use emojis; I throw some face emojis, the arm emoji to show how good I’m doing. I enjoyed The Late Late Night Show with James Cordon’s Emoji News segment, so I decided to give ‘How to Speak Emoji’ a try. And it boring. I don’t know what I was expecting, but this is basically a book with an explanation of the meaning of some of the emojis, and then there are different phrases for different occasions presented in emoji. And that’s it, it’s not funny or anything. I guess it can be used as a reference to step up you emoji game, but seriously… just use words. No one has time to decipher your emoji-only message.


29431093Title: 100 Tricks to Appear Smart in Meetings: How to Get By Without Even Trying

Author: Sarah Cooper

Pub date: October 4th, 2016

My rating: ★★★★☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on amazon.co.uk |amazon.com | Book Depository


This book is brilliant! Everyone working at any corporation will be able to relate and subsequently needs this book. It’s full of satirical advises on how to appear smart in meetings, what to do, where to sit, what to say and what faces to make. Throughout your working life, you will probably notice people going with those pieces of advice in real life, on purpose or not. You didn’t know, but you need this book. Bonus for women – there is a much-needed chapter on how to attend meeting sin a male-dominated workplace.

wp-1471032334577.png


Title: Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts: An Awkward Yeti Collection31131396

Author: The Awkward Yeti

Pub date: October 18th, 2016

My rating: ★★★★★

View on Goodreads 


This is my favourite one from the list, and I think this is actually my favourite comic strip ever. Two main characters Heart and Brain are just adorable, and they represent just what you expect from heart and brain. It is comical to see how ridiculous our body and our thoughts might be, and those body organs are showing this perfectly. I was not expecting those strips to be so thought provoking.  Each strip was giving me something to think about, little pieces of life truths delivered in a witty fashion. Check out my some of favourite parts:

wp-1472244493208.pngwp-1472244489363.pngwp-1472244484357.png

5 thoughts on “Mini Reviews of Humorous Books

Leave a Reply

