BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Book by one of my favorite authors

It’s Book Traveling Thursday! It is a weekly meme hosted by Catia and Danielle. At the beginning of each month, they post a list of weekly themes. After choosing a book that fits the theme, you look at different covers of various editions and write your blog post with the original cover, the covers from your country, your favourite cover, and your least favourite cover. To find out more check out Goodreads group!

This week’s theme is: Today you have the choice. Go back to the previous themes and choose the one you want to. So I had a look at the previous themes for BTT and decided on a theme from August 2015 – Choose a book by one of your favorite authors.  One of my favourite authors is J.K. Rowling. I love her book The Casual Vacancy. I featured it in my list of All Time Favourite Contemporary Books.

SYNOPIS FROM GOODREADS:

A BIG NOVEL ABOUT A SMALL TOWN …

When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock.

Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war.

Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils … Pagford is not what it first seems.

And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations?

– ORIGINAL COVER –

13497818

– COVER FROM POLAND –

16146731

– FAVOURITE COVER –

– LEAST FAVOURITE COVER –

The first cover – I don’t know what that’s about. The cover promoting the TV show is, of course, a big no for me. And the last cover, it has, what I assume a dead body of Barry on the cover and a woman casually walking by and looking at him – wtf?

10 thoughts on “BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Book by one of my favorite authors

  1. Marta says:

    My favorite is the blue cover! It’s the one I have! 😀 And those three covers are a big no for me too hahaha I finished this book this month, and unfortunately I didn’t like it, I hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

      Donna, I can relate! I really struggled to get through the 3rd quarter of the book in particular. However, it’s definitely worth it for the last 15 pages~ My personal opinion is that JK Rowling needed a stronger editing hand, but no one was brave enough to provide it.

      Like

  2. Louise says:

    I’ve only even the original cover, but think I prefer the second of your favourites. I really like the openness of the sky and the row of houses at the bottom. I don’t know why but it instantly makes me think ‘small English town’, which of course is perfect for the story.
    My BTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

