BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Book that should be a classic in few years

It’s Book Traveling Thursday! It is a weekly meme hosted by Catia and Danielle. At the beginning of each month, they post a list of weekly themes. After choosing a book that fits the theme, you look at different covers of various editions and write your blog post with the original cover, the covers from your country, your favourite cover, and your least favourite cover. To find out more check out Goodreads group!

This week’s theme is: Choose a book that you think it should be a classic in a few years. My first choice for this theme is a book I already featured in BTT – A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. My second choice is Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. It is hard for me to express my love for this book. It is just beautiful and thrilling story, story like no other.

Summary:

“I was born twice: first, as a baby girl, on a remarkably smogless Detroit day of January 1960; and then again, as a teenage boy, in an emergency room near Petoskey, Michigan, in August of l974. . . My birth certificate lists my name as Calliope Helen Stephanides. My most recent driver’s license…records my first name simply as Cal.”

So begins the breathtaking story of Calliope Stephanides and three generations of the Greek-American Stephanides family who travel from a tiny village overlooking Mount Olympus in Asia Minor to Prohibition-era Detroit, witnessing its glory days as the Motor City, and the race riots of l967, before they move out to the tree-lined streets of suburban Grosse Pointe, Michigan. To understand why Calliope is not like other girls, she has to uncover a guilty family secret and the astonishing genetic history that turns Callie into Cal, one of the most audacious and wondrous narrators in contemporary fiction. Lyrical and thrilling, Middlesex is an exhilarating reinvention of the American epic.

– ORIGINAL COVER –

220px-middlesex_novel

– COVER FROM POLAND –

So there is a pretty Polish cover, and a really, really ugly one. I remember that the book I checked out from library had different cover, but I couldn’t find it.

 

– FAVOURITE COVER –

There are many different covers for this book, and there is a lot of different views on how to represent the story on the cover. I like most of the covers, I think this is the first time when I had more covers that I truly liked than covers that were just horrible. I decided to narrow down the covers to those six. I think the last cover, Portuguese one is amazing, and I wouldn’t mind having such book on my shelf.

– LEAST FAVOURITE COVER –

Those covers are just strange. I totally do not understand what the middle cover design supposed to represent.

8 thoughts on “BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Book that should be a classic in few years

  1. Louise says:

    I’ve never heard of this book, but it sounds really interesting. I completely agree about the Polish covers. The first is lovely but those slugs? Ick. I really like the variety of covers for this one, so many different takes. I think my favourite is the second to last of your favourites – the green with the moth.

    My BTT this week

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ola says:

      Ok, so I totally don’t remember what this cover is referring to because I read the book and doesn’t make sense to me. Please, remind me, how this cover works with the story?

      Like

  2. TeacherofYA says:

    I guess the second one means heartbreak? Because she’s smashing a heart? (I agree…freakin weird!)
    I have seen the movie The Virgin Suicides, but I didn’t know it was a book until you. Maybe I should check this one out…
    I love that you’re in Poland! I wish I could see what it looks like there!

    Like

    • Ola says:

      Hym, ok, I can see the idea now, but still, other cover arts represent the story much better. I need to watch the movie!
      Come to Poland if you have a chance! It’s really pretty here and rich in history. You can always aks me if you want to know anything about Poland 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

