Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156Title: Six of Crows

Series: Six of Crows #1

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Pub Date: September 29th, 2015

My Rating: ★★★★★

View on Goodreads | Buy on amazon.co.uk |amazon.com | Book Depository | Wordery


Synopis from Goodreads:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Wow, just wow! This book is amazing! I didn’t know about this book before I started blogging. But then this book was appearing in so many posts, and I’ve seen it on bookstagram and booktube, and with the publication date of a second book in a series approaching, I decided that I just have to see what’s the whole hype about. I’m glad I did.

At first, I had troubles with figuring out the world, who are Grishas, what can they do, I had trouble with the names and gangs. For some reason the beginning of the story was just not working well for me, I think I just wasn’t focused enough. Anyway, after some time I finally understood the world of the story.

The thing I like the most in the book are the characters. Six of them are so different from each other, and I loved reading about their unlikely friendships and alliances. Throughout the book, I was constantly surprised to learn new things about each of the characters, about their past and about their present. The biggest surprise for me was Wylan and Jesper. Those two just weren’t that interesting for me at the beginning of the story, but later that changed. And the banter between Wylan and Jesper is just perfect. Hilarious and heated. All the characters are so unique and complex. Their life stories are disturbing and intriguing, and I wonder what else there might be in their past that we don’t know.

When I was starting to read the book I was afraid of the romance part of the story, YA books tend to have this part of the plot as the most important. Luckily this is not the case here. The romance was introduced very subtly and only when we knew quite a lot about the characters. This wasn’t a forced part of the plot, it was so natural and I loved it and at the end, I couldn’t resist rooting for that love.

Overall, this book was perfect. All the characters are flawed and perfect to read about. The story is packed with action and is very much entertaining. This book has just the right amount of everything to make it a perfect read. I need a second book in the series!

18 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Donna says:

    I am intrigued by this book because it is literally everywhere and it seems like every blogger loved it! That’s the problem with big world building, it takes a little while to really figure out what’s what 🙂 But I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

  2. Azia Willis says:

    I’m reading this right now and I’m only on page 80 or so but I’m loving every second of it. I recognize this world from The Grisha Trilogy so it was slightly easier to take in all the world building! Can’t wait to finish up this book. It’s already in my top favorites of 2016 😀

    Like

  3. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I want to read this so badly! It sounds AMAZING. I haven’t read The Grisha trilogy though and I always get so confused when it comes to fantasy, but I feel like I’ll enjoy this more so I kinda don’t want to wait until I’ve finished the other 3 books, haha. I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

