It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

9781501110368_87655Title: It Ends with Us

Author: Colleen Hoover

Pub Date: August 2, 2016

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Honors: 

View on Goodreads | Buy on amazon.co.uk |amazon.com | Book Depository | Wordery


I’ve read any other book by Colleen Hoover, but from what I heard, this one is completely different from her other books. This story is intense and heartbreaking, and it touches on serious and sensitive subjects, that for some may be just too hard to read about. Because of that, please look for specific trigger warnings if you want to make sure that this book doesn’t contain topic for which you may have a damaging emotional response.

It ends with us begins as a love story of Lily Bloom and Ryle Kincaid. She moved to Boston from Main, she started her business here and on one day, when she was struggling with her emotions she met Ryle, a stranger on the rooftop. They though that this will be the last time they see each other, but the circumstances bring them together again when Lilly just hired her first employee who happened to be a Ryke’s sister.

I didn’t like Ryle from the start; he seemed too cocky, and I resented his whole vibe of ‘I just do one night stands, no relationships for me’. And of course Lily is the one that is changing that in him. I don’t like those types of male characters, and I don’t like that there just happens to be this one amazing woman that is changing his whole life, and he just cannot stop thinking about her. But reading the story I could totally understand why Lilly was so into him, some scenes made me swoon. This romance made me stay up late to read what will happen next.

Lilly is first person narrator of the story, and this makes this story exceptionally powerful. I was feeling what Lilly was feeling; I could understand her so completely. This also ended up in me being heartbroken, feeling pain as Lilly was feeling it. It wasn’t easy to read, but it was worth it. This story taught me something and showed me to look at some issues differently. I’m glad that I just needed to read a book to learn what Lily and so many real life women have to learn by living it.

This book also depicts a great female friendship. Alison is the first employee of Lily, and she also becomes her best friend. And when the hard times come, she is the best possible friend out there, who can leave her feelings out of the problems her friend is facing. She is a positive spirit throughout the book, delivering some great lines.

It Ends With Us is a complicated story that will flush you with all the happy, hopeful, sad and heartbreaking waves of emotions. It isn’t perfect, but will stay with me for a long time. The story won’t be easy to forget.

6 thoughts on “It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

    • Ola says:

      I’ve seen it everywhere, and all the reviews were positive, and that’s why I read it. I wasn’t planning on, because I didn’t read any good reviews of Hoover’s previous books from my friends on Goodreads. But this one seemed to be different, and I’m glad I read it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

