BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Book that makes me think about traveling

It’s Book Traveling Thursday! It is a weekly meme hosted by Catia and Danielle. At the beginning of each month, they post a list of weekly themes. After choosing a book that fits the theme, you look at different covers of various editions and write your blog post with the original cover, the covers from your country, your favourite cover, and your least favourite cover. To find out more check out Goodreads group!

This week’s theme is: Because reading takes us to a lot of different adventures choose a book that makes you think about traveling. Book that first came to my mind and which I’m featuring in today’s post is The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium Trilogy #1) by Stieg Larsson. The original Swedish title is ‘Men who hate women’ and I think that the original title works perfectly well with the book’s story. Anyway, why I have chosen this title? Because after reading this book I wanted to visit Sweden, go to see all the places where Mikael Blomkvist was in Stockholm, go and see Uppsala. When I finally go there, I will join The Millennium Tour.

SYNOPSIS

 A murder mystery, family saga, love story, and a tale of financial intrigue wrapped into one satisfyingly complex and entertainingly atmospheric novel.Harriet Vanger, scion of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families, disappeared over forty years ago. All these years later, her aged uncle continues to seek the truth. He hires Mikael Blomkvist, a crusading journalist recently trapped by a libel conviction, to investigate. He is aided by the pieced and tattooed punk prodigy Lisbeth Salander. Together they tap into a vein of unfathomable iniquity and astonishing corruption.

Check out this book on Goodreads and buy it on Amazon

– Original Cover and Polish cover –

thegirlwiththedragontattoo

Polish cover is the same as the original cover, so I’m not adding it here. I like how raw this cover is, and that it is designed to look like the magazine.

 

– Favourite Cover –

All my favourite covers feature dragon, and they all look so pretty. The Dutch edition of the trilogy will look especially good on the bookshelf.

– Least Favourite Cover –

Can someone explain to me why there is Wednesday Addams on the cover of French edition? And what did wrong with designing the tattoo for German cover? And why is this woman on Spanish edition such oddly shaped?

21 thoughts on “BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Book that makes me think about traveling

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    Yeah, those least favorite covers…I agree with you. Gruesome, and I can’t read a book that looks like that. Or anything for that matter.
    You know the books that have the giant eyeballs on the cover? Those are my least favorite. Can’t bring myself to buy one of those.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ola says:

      It is such a mystery to me why they went with Addams on the cover… Ah well, still great book no matter the cover, but judging by the French cover you might expect quite a different story.

      Like

  2. Ellis Ferrell says:

    I’d never seen the original cover for this, but I like it. It suits the feel of the story but my favourite is the red dragon cover. The covers you picked as least favourite are pretty bad lol. Especially Wednesday and the one next to her 😀
    My BTT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Esther says:

    I love your choices and I didn’t know that was the original cover, that’s so cool! Sadly, I own the trilogy in the Spanish edition… they are awful. They are supposed to represent hurt women, I’m guessing, but they are weird and creepy!

    Like

    • Ola says:

      Yeah, the Spanish edition, no comment… I feel like a lot of people forgot that this book is actually a translation and it is originally Swedish. I guess Daniel Craig can do that to a book 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Esther says:

        Oh, I never saw that version :O I remember the trailer, though! I did see the Swedish films. For some reason, I always thought the green edition was the original and I never took notice that the title was in English hahah

        Like

  4. Sarah @ Reviews and Readathons says:

    Those last covers aren’t good. I don’t think they fit with the book at all. I love this book but had never seen the original cover. I do like how it looks like a magazine. I’m partial to the green and yellow cover because that’s the cover I had when I read it. Great choice!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Natalie says:

    Haha, how interesting that a rather brutal crime trilogy made you interested in travelling to Sweden! I live in Sweden so I always find it very interesting when people from other countries in the world want to travel here. Although now that I think about it, there was some beautiful scenery described especially with the cabin from the first book. Those last covers really are baad – I agree with you that the Swedish covers are suitable for the story, but that Dutch one – is it embossed? It looks beautiful! I also really like the Knoopf one. So interesting to see how other countries envision the book in the form of covers, what they think will sell it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

