The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

51e7p3y3ktl-_sl300_Title: The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo

Author: Amy Schumer

Pub Date: August 16th, 2016

My Rating: ★★★★☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on amazon.co.uk | amazon.com | Book Depository | Wordery


I adoreAmy Schumer, she’s funny and smart, and her show ‘Inside Amy’ is one my favourite. On that show, she made a point of issues that I agree with her on, and I also think are vital like double standards women face and gun control. Also, she made some dumb and funny shows that did not highlight the hypocrisy of society and politicians. After all, for a lot of people, she is known as that lady that speak about her vagina a lot.

Being Amy’s fan, I wanted to get my hands on her book. I recently started listening to audiobooks, and this memoir was a perfect choice for my next listen. Amy herself performs it, and I’d love to spend some time listening to her reading to me her book. I believe that it was an excellent choice, I enjoyed this audiobook immensely.

I never gave any thought to who Amy is in her private life; she was just the comic for me. It was great to get to know her a little better, to know who she is when she is not performing, and how different her stage persona is from who she truly is. I was initially surprised to learn that Amy is an introvert, but then,  I lot of comics memoirs say the same about themselves. Amy shared a lot of very personal stories with us. Some were funny, and some were heartbreaking. It was devastating to listen to her talk about her abusive relationships. The chapter on her relationship with her mum hit me, and the audiobook managed to show me how emotional writing about this was for Amy, her voice nearly broke when she was telling the story of her unhealthy relationship with mum, and how she was fighting to heal it.

Amy Schumer’s book is nothing like her stand-ups, it tells an entirely different story of the one that you may put together from her work appearances. I loved it, it made me sad at times, but also happy, hopeful and inspired.

8 thoughts on “The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

Leave a Reply

