top ten tuesday, post logo

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Long Overdue TBR books

This weekly meme was created by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme is Ten Books That Have Been On Your Shelf (Or TBR) From Before You Started Blogging That You STILL Haven’t Read Yet.

Oh man, I have so many of those books. I have a problem with buying books, I don’t really have money for them , and I certainly won’t be reading them all anytime soon because of the sheer magnitude of the TBR list. I will feature only the physical copies that I own, and I will choose them at random by looking at my shelf. I’m not even looking at my ebooks.


The Second Sex
by Simone de Beauvoir

Politics | feminism

 

8869225Pub Date: 1949

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk  | Amazon.com | Book Depository

(..) Simone de Beauvoir’s masterwork is a powerful analysis of the Western notion of “woman,” and a groundbreaking exploration of inequality and otherness. This long-awaited new edition reinstates significant portions of the original French text that were cut in the first English translation. Vital and groundbreaking, Beauvoir’s pioneering and impressive text remains as pertinent today as it was sixty years ago, and will continue to provoke and inspire generations of men and women to come.

I first come across this book in a library in Finland, when I was just starting to understand feminism and looking out for some reading on that topic. This book was just too intimidating to start my feminist reading, so I didn’t read it back then. Buy I bought my own copy last year, and still didn’t find the right moment to commit to reading this over 800 pages book.

The Interestings
by Meg Wolitzer

LITERARY FICTION | contemporary

18070707Pub Date: 2013

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.comBook Depository

Whatever became of the most talented people you once knew?

On a warm summer night in 1974, six teenagers play at being cool. They smoke pot, drink vodka, share their dreams and vow always to be interesting.

Decades later, aspiring actress Jules has resigned herself to a more practical occupation; Cathy has stopped dancing; Jonah has laid down his guitar and Goodman has disappeared. Only Ethan and Ash, now married, have remained true to their adolescent dreams and have become shockingly successful too. As the group’s fortunes tilt precipitously, their friendships are put under the ultimate strain of envy and crushing disappointment.

This is one of the first books that I bought from Book Depository, one of the first books that I bought in English. I read all other books from this order (like The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. and We Were Liars) but I never come around to reading this one.

Station Eleven
by Emily St. John Mandel

fiction | science fiction | dystopian

 

23593321Pub Date: May 12, 2015

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.com | Book Depository

An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, Station Eleven tells the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity.

Spanning decades, moving back and forth in time, and vividly depicting life before and after the pandemic, this suspenseful, elegiac novel is rife with beauty. As Arthur falls in and out of love, as Jeevan watches the newscasters say their final good-byes, and as Kirsten finds herself caught in the crosshairs of the prophet, we see the strange twists of fate that connect them all. A novel of art, memory, and ambition, Station Eleven tells a story about the relationships that sustain us, the ephemeral nature of fame, and the beauty of the world as we know it.

There was a big buzz about this book on Goodreads, and the time I had to buy it immediately. But eventually, I never read it. I read so many good reviews of this book, and the time when I will pick it time will definitely come.

I Am Malala: The Story of the Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban
by Malala Yousafzai, Christina Lamb

nonfiction | biography | feminism

17851885Pub Date: 2012

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.comBook Depository

I Am Malala is the remarkable tale of a family uprooted by global terrorism, of the fight for girls’ education, of a father who, himself a school owner, championed and encouraged his daughter to write and attend school, and of brave parents who have a fierce love for their daughter in a society that prizes sons.

I Am Malala will make you believe in the power of one person’s voice to inspire change in the world.

I like reading memoirs, and this one is definitely special. Malala’s story is extraordinary and I wanted to read more about her (still do), so I bought the book.

The Little Friend
by Donna Tartt

fiction | mystery | crime

28275535Pub Date: 2002

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.comBook Depository

The setting is Alexandria, Mississippi, where one Mother’s Day a little boy named Robin Cleve Dufresnes was found hanging from a tree in his parents’ yard. Twelve years later Robin’s murder is still unsolved and his family remains devastated. So it is that Robin’s sister Harriet – unnervingly bright, insufferably determined, and unduly influenced by the fiction of Kipling and Robert Louis Stevenson–sets out to unmask his killer. Aided only by her worshipful friend Hely, Harriet crosses her town’s rigid lines of race and caste and burrows deep into her family’s history of loss.

I have a Polish translation of the book, and they only published it after the success of The Goldfinch. This is probably why the cover is so similar to  The Goldfinch cover. I think I rather read this book in English, but there was a promo at the publisher’s site, and I bought this book with a bunch of others for a good price.

The Paying Guests
by Sarah Waters

historical fiction | romance | lgbtq+

18485452Pub Date: 2014

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.comBook Depository

It is 1922, and London is tense. Ex-servicemen are disillusioned; the out-of-work and the hungry are demanding change. And in South London, in a genteel Camberwell villa — a large, silent house now bereft of brothers, husband, and even servants — life is about to be transformed as impoverished widow Mrs. Wray and her spinster daughter, Frances, are obliged to take in lodgers.

With the arrival of Lilian and Leonard Barber, a modern young couple of the “clerk class,” the routines of the house will be shaken up in unexpected ways. Little do the Wrays know just how profoundly their new tenants will alter the course of Frances’s life — or, as passions mount and frustration gathers, how far-reaching, and how devastating, the disturbances will be.

Another book that I was desperate to get, but when I finally got it, I just didn’t read it. So this one is also still waiting for its moment.

Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood, and the Prison of Belief
by Lawrence Wright

nonfiction | religion | history

16142053

Pub Date: October 7, 2014

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.comBook Depository

In Going Clear, Wright examines what fundamentally makes a religion a religion, and whether Scientology is, in fact, deserving of the constitutional protections achieved in its victory over the IRS. Employing all his exceptional journalistic skills of observations, understanding, and synthesis, and his ability to shape a story into a compelling narrative, Lawrence Wright has given us an evenhanded yet keenly incisive book that goes far beyond an immediate exposé and uncovers the very essence of what makes Scientology the institution it is.

A book that debunks some crazy myths about a mysterious and quite creepy religion? Yes, please. But then, didn’t read it yet…

The Bell Jar
by Sylvia Plath

classics | feminism | literary fiction

6514Pub Date: 1962

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.comBook Depository

Sylvia Plath’s shocking, realistic, and intensely emotional novel about a woman falling into the grip of insanity.

Esther Greenwood is brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, and successful, but slowly going under—maybe for the last time. In her acclaimed and enduring masterwork, Sylvia Plath brilliantly draws the reader into Esther’s breakdown with such intensity that her insanity becomes palpably real, even rational—as accessible an experience as going to the movies. A deep penetration into the darkest and most harrowing corners of the human psyche, The Bell Jar is an extraordinary accomplishment and a haunting American classic.

I’ve been meaning to read this book for ages, and in January I bought this book in the most lovely, bagel serving bookstore in Berlin. And now it’s waiting for me to read on my bookshelf.

A Field Guide to Getting Lost
by Rebecca Solnit

nonfiction | essays | travel | memoir

1462793Pub Date: 2005

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.comBook Depository

Rebecca Solnit investigates the nature of loss, losing and being lost. She starts with the revelation that what is totally unknown to you is usually what you most need to discover and explores how finding that unknown quantity frequently requires getting lost to begin with.

I bought this book because it has a lovely cover, intriguing title and good rating on Goodreads. I bought it with a bunch of other books and other books ended up being more of a priority for me to read. And this one is still waiting.

My Own Story
by Emmeline Pankhurst

history | feminism | nonfiction | autobiography

26085765Pub Date: 1914

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.comBook Depository

Emmeline Pankhurst was raised in a world that valued men over women. At fourteen she attended her first suffrage meeting and returned home a confirmed suffragist. Throughout her career she endured humiliation, prison, hunger strikes and the repeated frustration of her aims by men in power but she rose to become the guiding light of the Suffragette movement. This is Pankhurst’s story, in her own words, of her struggle for equality

There was a movie coming out – Suffragette, when I learn that it was inspired by a book, I decided to read the book first. To this day, I haven’t read the book, nor did I watch the movie.


Anything from my list that you found interesting? How many books from the list did you read? Is anything going to you TBR list? Which one do you think I should read immediately?

19 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: Long Overdue TBR books

  1. LairOfBooks says:

    Awesome Top 10! I also have Station Eleven, The Goldfinch , and The Bell jar on my TBR. I am Malala was AMAZING & inspirational, I now follow everything about her since reading this book 🙂

    Like

  2. Holly says:

    Station Eleven sounds like such an interesting read!! There was so much buzz about it in the book blogging community a little while back but it seems to have died down some since then. However, it still has my attention!
    Great list! 🙂

    Like

  3. Jess @Bird, Books, and Coffee says:

    I Am Malala – my list too except not listed this week. lol. I asked for it for Christmas once. But, I never got and I’ve never gotten around to grabbing it. THE BELL JAR – my sister was all into that book when she was a teen and I’ve meant to jump on it ages ago. And, I did not know that Suffragette was based on a actual book. Thank you for sharing! I can’t wait to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. TeacherofYA says:

    Those are some seriously heavy books. I did a challenge where I picked two books for someone to read off their TBR, and one was a The Bell Jar. She was not a fan. It’s a heavy book, too. I hope you pace yourself on those titles and switch them up with some light reading, too! 😉

    Like

  5. Awa says:

    Lot’s of these I want to read! Starting with the Scientology one… I go by one of their places everyday on the way to work – I’m tempted to go in just to see what they are all about!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

