BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Non-fiction

It’s Book Traveling Thursday! It is a weekly meme hosted by Catia and Danielle. At the beginning of each month, they post a list of weekly themes. After choosing a book that fits the theme, you look at different covers of various editions and write your blog post with the original cover, the covers from your country, your favourite cover, and your least favourite cover. To find out more check out Goodreads group!

This week’s theme is: Because we don’t always read fiction… choose your favorite non-fiction book. It wasn’t easy for me to find the right book for this topic, not because I don’t read much of non-fiction, but because the books I liked have only one cover design available, or they weren’t even translated into different languages. And with some books of serious themes, I didn’t feel comfortable in putting them in such a frivolous context. I finally decided on A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf.

SYNOPSIS

 A Room of One’s Own is an extended essay by Virginia Woolf. First published on 24 October 1929, the essay was based on a series of lectures she delivered at Newnham College and Girton College, two women’s colleges at Cambridge University in October 1928. While this extended essay in fact employs a fictional narrator and narrative to explore women both as writers of and characters in fiction, the manuscript for the delivery of the series of lectures, titled “Women and Fiction”, and hence the essay, are considered non-fiction. The essay is generally seen as a feminist text, and is noted in its argument for both a literal and figural space for women writers within a literary tradition dominated by patriarchy.

Check out this book on Goodreads and buy it on Amazon

– Original Cover –

aroomofonesown

The first edition cover by Vanessa Bell

– Cover from Poland –

I especially like the green cover; I think the Woolf’s head in a cube representing the room is a brilliant idea.

– Favourite Cover –

I’m noticing a bluish and pinkish colour scheme in the cover designs that are my favourite. There is plenty of lovely covers to choose from, but those are just the ones I liked the most.

– Least Favourite Cover –

I confused with those covers; I don’t get them at all, and I cannot understand why they are cover designs for this books.

23 thoughts on “BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Non-fiction

  1. MyPassionIsHappiness says:

    I haven’t seen this book, but I definitely agree with you and your favorites. I really love that cover with a lot of little windows. It’s so simple, but very cute.
    Haha, those are horrible covers..:D they’re just so different from others. Someone did pretty bad job understanding this book story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellis Ferrell says:

    This is a book I’ve always meant to read but never gotten around to. I adore the cover with the woman sitting in the chair – it’s a really beautiful image. I agree with you about all of the least favourites, especially the first two – very weird looking.
    My BTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ola says:

      Yeah, it’s nonfiction, extended essay based on Woolf’s lectures. When you think of Woolf you probably will associate her with fiction work, so I get how you’ll assume that this one is too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. wordsandotherbeasts says:

    Virginia Woolf is my favourite author so it’s great to see another blogger talking about her! I think the original cover by her sister Vanessa is my favourite, there’s just something about all the covers Vanessa did for Virginia’s books that suits them so well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

