667 Ways to F*ck Up My Life by Lucy Woodhull

30896288Title: 667 Ways to F*ck Up My Life

Authors: Lucy Woodhull

Pub Date: August 16th, 2016

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

View on Goodreads | Buy on  amazon.co.uk |amazon.com


 I rarely choose a typical chick-lit with a woman chasing a man as my read. I prefer to watch romantic comedies, not read them. But the blurb said that this is a great book for fans of Broad City and Bridget Jones, so I decided to give it a try. And I stand with my initial preferences – I’d rather watch a 1.5h movie with the same plot than read the book. But I still quite enjoyed reading the book, so I gave it three stars – it’s not bad, and it’s not great, and I’ll probably forget all about it soon.

Dagmar Kostopoulos is having the worst day – she just got fired from a publishing job because she didn’t want to have sex with her boss (someone else wanted, and now she’s taking over Dag’s job), her boyfriend told her he just got a great job in L.A., and he’s moving there, without her, also, he cheated on her. He is a total asshole, and he told her that he’s leaving her because she’s boring and unworthy of anybody’s love. Dag who always struck for perfection and people pleasing has enough and takes a one-eighty. From now on she will be a fuck up. She will get a lousy job she doesn’t care about; she’ll try to sleep with her new boss, and she will have fun and won’t take shit from anyone. And she does just that and more. She even meets a perfect man. Actually, Giselle meets a perfect man. Dag in a spur of a moment introduces herself as a flight attendant Giselle to a writer Yash. She thought he would be just a one night stand, but she fucks up and ends with deeper feelings for him. And he doesn’t know that her name is Dagmar and that she used to work in publishing. Her life of fuck ups and her blog where she tells all about it is changing her life completely, but she still needs to figure out the lying to Yash part…

What bothered me in this story is the in-your-face feminist parts. It’s absolutely amazing that the romantic comedy protagonist is a feminist, and she believes in female friendship and helping each other. But those parts in the book were too much, she was trying to convince us that she’s such a great feminist. What bothered me the most are the parts where she apologizes for being ‘unfeminist like’ when she talks about wanting Yash and forgiving him for something. I’m not sure what was such ‘unfeminist’ of her that she needed to apologize. I wished Dag just did what she did, made all the mistakes and owned it, without telling us how great feminist she is because she’s doing it. I really liked her speech that she gives towards the end of the book, and I believe that this would be enough for delivering a feminist message. Let her actions speak and let us decide what we think of her actions.

Nevertheless, I still enjoyed this book for most parts. It’s a funny story, and there are some great references to pop culture. Plus the love interest of Dag – Yash is British Indian (yay for non-white characters!). I’d like to watch a movie based on this book.

 

3 thoughts on “667 Ways to F*ck Up My Life by Lucy Woodhull

Leave a Reply

