The Shuffle Book Tag

Lauren @ Comma Hangover tagged me in this music and book combined tag.

Rules

  1. Thank the person who nominated you, and provide a link to their post.
  2. Shuffle your iTunes library, google play music library, or whatever you’ve got.
  3. For each song that comes on, list the song and the artist, and name a book that it makes you think of, explaining why. (You can do as many or as few as you want, I’m not going to set a number. This is a low-pressure tag. Whoever we are, we’re pretty laid back.)
  4. Tag however many people you want, or everyone.

Devil Side by Foxes
&
The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel

“I want you, but not for your devil side
Not for your haunted life
Just for you
So tell me why it’s always your devil side
It’s always your dangerous mind
It’s never you
Who’s gonna save you now?
Who’s gonna save you?”

Devil Side reminded me of the book I recently read, where one of the main characters is the devil. This song, the quoted part, in particular, might have been something that Dresden sang to Sal.

Cool Girl by Tove Lo
&
Gone Girl by Gillin Flynn

“Men always say that as the defining compliment, don’t they? She’s a cool girl. Being the Cool Girl means I am a hot, brilliant, funny woman who adores football, poker, dirty jokes, and burping, who plays video games, drinks cheap beer, loves threesomes and anal sex, and jams hot dogs and hamburgers into her mouth like she’s hosting the world’s biggest culinary gang bang while somehow maintaining a size 2, because Cool Girls are above all hot. Hot and understanding. Cool Girls never get angry; they only smile in a chagrined, loving manner and let their men do whatever they want. Go ahead, shit on me, I don’t mind, I’m the Cool Girl.”

When I heard this song, it immediately reminded me of Amy’s thoughts on being the Cool Girl.

Drive by Oh Wonder
&
The Life and Death of Sophie Stark by Anna North

“It’s hard for me to talk about love,’ she said. ‘I think movies are the way I do that.”
― Anna North, The Life and Death of Sophie Stark

The lyrics of the song “Loving you is too hard, All I do is not enough (…) loving you leaves me hurt” reminded me of the story of Sophie and how hard it was for her to maintain the relationships with people. And how one of her lovers Allison got hurt, and how hard it was for her to love Sophie.

Open by Rhye
&
A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

I’m pairing those together because of all the feels that I get from listening to the song and all the feels I felt when reading the book.


I tag:

Joyce @ Completely Booked

Cath @ Boookishsmaug

Laila @ Big Reading Life

Amy @ Read.Dream.Live

14 thoughts on “The Shuffle Book Tag

Leave a Reply

