BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Lazy day reads

It’s Book Traveling Thursday! It is a weekly meme hosted by Catia and Danielle. At the beginning of each month, they post a list of weekly themes. After choosing a book that fits the theme, you look at different covers of various editions and write your blog post with the original cover, the covers from your country, your favourite cover, and your least favourite cover. To find out more check out Goodreads group!

This week’s theme is: Everyone needs at least one lazy day! Choose a book you would want to read in a lazy day at home or the beach.  On a lazy day or on the beach I’d love to read some fluff, something that’s not too serious, and just fun and easy to read. For example Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding, the number one chick-lit. The book was first published in 1996, so it has its 20th birthday this year!

SYNOPSIS

Meet Bridget Jones—a 30-something Singleton who is certain she would have all the answers if she could:
a. lose 7 pounds
b. stop smoking
c. develop Inner Poise

“123 lbs. (how is it possible to put on 4 pounds in the middle of the night? Could flesh have somehow solidified becoming denser and heavier? Repulsive, horrifying notion), alcohol units 4 (excellent), cigarettes 21 (poor but will give up totally tomorrow), number of correct lottery numbers 2 (better, but nevertheless useless)…”

Bridget Jones’ Diary is the devastatingly self-aware, laugh-out-loud daily chronicle of Bridget’s permanent, doomed quest for self-improvement — a year in which she resolves to: reduce the circumference of each thigh by 1.5 inches, visit the gym three times a week not just to buy a sandwich, form a functional relationship with a responsible adult, and learn to program the VCR.

Over the course of the year, Bridget loses a total of 72 pounds but gains a total of 74. She remains, however, optimistic. Through it all, Bridget will have you helpless with laughter, and — like millions of readers the world round — you’ll find yourself shouting, “Bridget Jones is me!”

– Original Cover –

BridgetJonesDiary

– Cover from Poland –

There are so many editions of this book; I had a plenty of covers to choose from. Those are just three from many covers that were published in Polish translation of this book. I think that I like the one with Renée Zellweger the most, because, after the movie, there is no Bridget Jones in my mind without Renée Zellweger.

– Favourite Covers –

Those two covers, both from English editions of the book are my favourite. I like the 2009 Picador edition is featuring refreshed photo that appeared in the first edition of the book.

There are two more covers that I like, but I still wouldn’t choose them as the covers for this story. Japanese over and French cover. The first one seems a bit too childish for the story and the second one is too dark, and I don’t get the use of panther pattern. I don’t think that either of this covers works well with the story, but I still like them just for the looks.

– Least Favourite Cover –

The main issue I have with the German cover is the title – they changed it to ‘Chocolate for breakfast’ (in later editions they added to that ‘Bridget Jone’s Diary). The other covers are just no, I think they just ugly and I want to look at them.


Have you read the book? Did you watch the movie? Which do you like best? What cover do you like the most?

6 thoughts on “BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Lazy day reads

  1. lailaarch says:

    Wow. I can’t believe it was published in 1996. I guess I read it somewhere around 2000-ish. The cover of the one we had at my library was the face in the notebook pages. I remember loving it. I remember liking one of her other books, Cause Celeb, too. Fun times!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ola says:

      I also couldn’t believe that it was so long ago, and the movie (which I saw before I read the book) was release in 2001! And really the story will speak to all the modern gals, they might just be confused about the technology Bridget was using back then 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. fairydancer221 says:

    I always wonder what the rationale is for changing the title. I’m usually annoyed since the title hints at the theme or something else the author wanted to focus on. I found an acceptable translation for an Italian translation of The Rosie Project, but the translation for Bridget Jones’ Diary doesn’t strike me like a good choice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ola says:

      I understand sometimes that the original title is really hard to translate so it won’t sound ridiculous in the other language. But Bridget Jone’s Dairy is not a hard title to translate – so I have no idea why they changed it so drastically in the German edition.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

