top ten tuesday, post logo

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them

This weekly meme was created by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme is Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them.


The Lonely City: Adventures in the Art of Being Alone
by Olivia Laing

Nonfiction | Memoir | Art | New York

MADE ME: want to learn more about artists mentioned in it like Edward Hopper, Andy Warhol, and David Wojnarowicz
25667449

Pub Date: March 1st, 2016

My Rating: ★★★★★

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk  | Amazon.com | Book Depository

Humane, provocative and deeply moving, The Lonely City is about the spaces between people and the things that draw them together, about sexuality, mortality and the magical possibilities of art. It’s a celebration of a strange and lovely state, adrift from the larger continent of human experience, but intrinsic to the very act of being alive.

This is such an amazing book! I loved this! It made me feel understood, it made me feel. Very often I had to stop, reread some passage that especially got to me and think about it. And there were many such moments.

Lab Girl
by Hope Jahren

Nonfiction | Memoir | Science

MADE ME: want to find my true passion in life

25733983

Pub Date: April 5th, 2016

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk  | Amazon.com | Book Depository

Lab Girl is a book about work, love, and the mountains that can be moved when those two things come together. It is told through Jahren’s stories: about her childhood in rural Minnesota with an uncompromising mother and a father who encouraged hours of play in his classroom’s labs; about how she found a sanctuary in science, and learned to perform lab work done “with both the heart and the hands”; and about the inevitable disappointments, but also the triumphs and exhilarating discoveries, of scientific work.

 I was never interested in plants, I cannot even bother to care for some houseplant my mum bought for me. But your chapters about trees made me feel for them, made me change the way I look at them. They have so much more to offer if you look closely, they ancestors had to fight to survive, and now they are being slaughtered and so little people are even noticing it.


Today I just have two books that come to my mind when I read the topic. The first book is full of information; I was constantly researching different facts from the book to learn more about them. The second book is very inspiring, the book I learned a lot from and that inspired me to find the true passion in my life, to look for it, and when I find it, to dedicate my life to it.

EDIT: I just remembered one more book that made me do things!

Yes Please
by Amy Poehler

Nonfiction | Memoir | Comedy

MADE ME: go to comedy club

20910157Pub Date: October 28th, 2014

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Goodreads | Buy: Amazon.co.uk  | Amazon.com | Book Depository

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

After reading this I really wanted to see improv! And I did 🙂 I went to my local comedy club, two performances were mediocre at best, and one was quite good. One day I hope to go to some comedy club in New York and see some improv group there.


I’m eager to learn about books that inspired you to do something, or learn something, or just inspired you to be more!
11 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I love it when books inspire me to look stuff up or just learn more about the topic! Books can be SO inspiring, right?!? LOOOOOVE that. And I haven’t read either of these but I love your reasons for being inspired by them. :’)
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

    • Ola says:

      Those have double strong inspiring power for be because they are about real people, what I was reading about were fact, people actually did it, created it, and change a world a tiny bit while doing it.

      Like

  2. Holly says:

    Lab Girl sounds so interesting!! I’m really bad at caring for plants as well (I swear that the succulents in my dorm room must have nine lives) but I keep trying 🙂

    Like

  3. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Your comments about Lab Girl make it sounds such a unique, intriguing read that gives you food for thought. Some books definitely have that ability to make you look at things in a different light – I’ll have to check that out, thanks for introducing it to us!

    Here’s my TTT. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

