Book Traveling Thursday logo with overlook of international covers of book The Perks of Being Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Everyone loves music

It’s Book Traveling Thursday! It is a weekly meme hosted by Catia and Danielle. At the beginning of each month, they post a list of weekly themes. After choosing a book that fits the theme, you look at different covers of various editions and write your blog post with the original cover, the covers from your country, your favourite cover, and your least favourite cover. To find out more check out Goodreads group!

This week’s theme is: Everyone loves music. Choose a book where music is a big part of the story. For me, the perfect pick for this theme is The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. There is a whole list of songs that are mentioned in the book that Charlie is learning about. Recommended music for this post is Heroes by David Bowie obviously, the right music to feel infinite.

SYNOPSIS

Charlie is a freshman.

And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.

Check out this book on Goodreads and buy it on UK Amazon or US Amazon.

– Original Cover –

22628

English, published February 1999 by MTV Books and Pocket Books

– Cover from my country – Poland –

13492249

Polish, published January 25th, 2012 by Wydawnictwo REMI

OMG, I had no idea that this is the cover of Polish edition. I didn’t know that I could be so profoundly affected by a book cover, but this one is just awful. I’m a bit traumatised. It was better not knowing… And the title is not working for me, just ‘Charlie’, but I get how hard it would be to create a good title that translates the meaning of the original one well enough.

– Favourite Cover –

There are so many editions of this book in so many different languages, and most of them have excellent covers, and I just couldn’t narrow down this list. So I chose six of my favourite covers. There is even a movie cover, those are usually not good, but in this case, I like it. It’s not over the top, it is not screaming MOVIE, and I like that it nods to the original cover with the green wall as the background. Also, German title is ‘Das also ist mein Leben’ which translates back to English as ‘So that’s my life’, interesting choice. Catalonian title translates back as ‘The advantages of being outcast’ which is pretty close to the original title, Spanish is almost the same but with world ‘invisible’ instead of ‘outcast.’

– Least Favourite Cover –

And of course the Polish cover, but I’m not going to add this here. One look at this cover is enough, no point in showing it again. It’s interesting to see how the local titles translate back to English – Croatian one means ‘Charlie’s life’ and French ‘Not fitting’.

Which cover of The Perks of being Wallflower do you like best?

9 thoughts on “BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY: Everyone loves music

    • Ola says:

      Thanks! I liked so many favorite covers for this one, I personally am not a big fan of the original cover – it’s just ok, nothing special.

      Like

  1. MyPassionIsHappiness says:

    I looove this book! Ah, I need to read it all over again..and the film is also fantastic.
    You’ve mention two Lithuanian covers (my country) and I agree they’re pretty bad for this amazing story. I love all your favorite ones, but I like the original too, I think it’s a super simplistic cover and I also like that little photo in the corner. ☺
    Great BTT! ☺

    Like

  2. aubreysbooknook says:

    I enjoyed this book for the most part when I read it. My favorite cover is the blue and black one with cursive writing in the bottom right corner of your favorites. I also like the movie edition (although, I haven’t seen the movie yet).

    Like

Leave a Reply

