The Liebster Award

liebster-blog-award.pngI was nominated for the Liebster Award by Lauren @ Comma Hangover. Thank you so wp-1468694519832.jpgmuch, Lauren, for nominating me! Check out her blog, especially all her posts featuring The City of Thieves, the book she praised so much that I had to buy it. And I did 🙂

The Rules:

  1. Post the award on your blog.
  2. Acknowledge the blogger who nominated you.
  3. Answer the questions assigned to you.
  4. Nominate 11 deserving bloggers for the award.
  5. Ask 11 questions to your nominees.

 

– The Questions –

1. If you had to go to a deserted island with only one book, what would it be and why?

the goldfinchI would take The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. The main reason is that I love this book. Second thing – the book is long, and at a deserted island with only one book I would prefer to reread a long book which will take longer for me to memorize thoroughly. The third thing is that the story is quite complex, taking place in different locations, and mixes a lot of themes and topics which will make me entertained for long, and hopefully, this will postpone the moment when I will be sick of reading the same book over and over again.

2. Is there a book you could see so perfectly in your head that you dreamcasted it? Share your cast here!

Hmmm… No, I never dreamcasted any book.

3. Name the best opening line from any book that you have ever read!

“The war in Zagreb began over a pack of cigarettes.”
—Girl at War by Sara Nović

4. Is there a non-bookish item on your shelf? If so, what is it?

Yes, it’s a box with bottles of nail polish and an orange plastic goblet signed by my camp friends.

5. Do you eat while reading? What is your favorite snack?

I do! And my favourite snack is a Twix bar.

6. What do you think of books that involve food? Do they make you hungry? Or inspire you to cook?

I like books that involve food, food is something I love – I am a huge fan of Australian Master Chef. I like reading about food, looking photos of food and watching people cook – but this only makes me hungry and only inspires me to go to some restaurant that will feed me good food, or at least eat a Twix bar to curb my food craving 😉

7. What is your favorite micro-genre? (Or subgenre?)

I don’t have one. But I have my favorite theme – it’s feminism. No matter what is the genre of the book, if it shows as Feminism on Goodreads – I’m buying it!

8. What social media networks are you on most frequently? Do you promote your posts on there?

I recently ‘discovered’ Twitter. I wasn’t using it before I started blogging, but now I have my account, and I finally get it, and I’m hooked. Twitter is such a great place to connect with authors – most of the authors are on Twitter and it is very likely that they will answer your bookish questions! My Twitter handle is OlaReadsBooks.

9. What is the most irritating character you have ever read about? Why were they so irritating?

To All the Boys I've Loved Before

I always try to repress my memory of annoying characters. However, I’ve lately seen so many posts about To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han and my memory of Lara Jean was refreshed. Lara Jean is such an annoying character, she’s so immature for her age, so naive and silly and spoiled, I couldn’t stand her. I have no idea how I managed to finish this book.

10. What is one book setting that you wish you could visit? Do you keep a bookish travel list?

The most recent book setting I’d like to visit is Vilnius, especially Užupis neighborhood in it – it’s from Dear Fang, With Love by Rufi Thorpe. I don’t keep bookish traveling list, but this sounds like a good idea, and I might start it.

11. How often do you visit your local independent bookseller?

I buy almost all of my books online; that’s because I read in English, and where I live online is the only place where I can get them and not pay some humongous price for them. So I don’t visit any local independent bookseller.


–  QUESTIONS FOR MY NOMINEES –

  1. What is the last sentence from the book you’re currently reading that you read?
  2. What is the funniest book you’ve ever read?
  3. What is your book buying habits? Do you research a book before buying or just buy it on a whim?
  4. What is the book you reread the most times?
  5. Is there a book you loved when you first read it, but now you think is horrible? What is this book?
  6. What is the best closing line from a book you read?
  7. Do you research authors of books you read?
  8. Do you belong to any book club? If yes, what kind of book club it is?
  9. What is the book that you regret spending time reading?
  10. How many books do you own?
  11. [EDIT: changing the question beacue I just realized I asked the same thing twice] Have you ever read a book that is set in a place where you live/lived?

– my nominees –

16 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Lauren Busser says:

    I love all your answers and I am so happy you purchased a copy of City of Thieves! It really is a great book! The praise on the cover kids not! 🙂 Your questions are awesome as well.

    I never thought about English books more expensive in other countries but it makes sense. In the states, we have lots of bookstores that are independent that try to keep afloat with Amazon so I try to support them when I can, particularly when I travel to communities. Some are really creative, specialize in certain books, or just have an amazing staff.

    Like

    • Ola says:

      I heard about those amazing independend bookstores in the States, but seriously we don’t have anything like this here. Well, we have caffees that sell books, and those are pretty cool, but this is not the same.

      Like

  2. The Sapphire says:

    I haven’t joined Twitter (yet) but I’m highly considering it for the reasons you mentioned, though I feel that it would be ‘too much’, in terms of social media. BTW, ditto what you said about Lara Jean. I listened to the audiobook and.. meh 😐
    Thanks for nominating me! And btw, whenever you comment, your URL (on your name) is wrong D: It links to another non-existing blog. You should change it so it links to this blog!

    Like

  3. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Yes, feminism! It’s so important to me. I’ve only read a couple of books based around it, but I’m definitely trying to read more. Also Twix are 👌🏻 haha. I followed you on Twitter, too! I’m wxnderless over there 😊

    Also, thanks so much for the nomination! I’ve done this one already, but I appreciate the thought so much and I love your questions!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ola says:

      Yes, read more books about feminism! This is a very important topic, and reading more about it opened my eyes. The latest book in this topic that I read is ‘Shrill’ by Lindy West – it is a great read, funny and informational at the same time. Check it out, I posted a review of this book some time ago.
      I hope you’ll figure your internet and you soon will be able to blog again, but for now I follow you on the Twitter 🙂

      Like

  4. Jess I. says:

    Congrats on the award! I cannot eat while reading, especially chocolate. Potato chips? I’m going to get oil stains. Chocolate? Melts too easily. RICE?? Going to stick to my book forever. I try to always buy at indie, but it can get so expensive sometimes. However, I love the unique feel I always get from them!

    Thanks for stopping by Princessica of Books!

    Like

  5. Bellezza says:

    I liked Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch very much for all the reason you mention here, but The Secret History will always be my favorite book of hers. If you like complex plots and lengthy novels, as I do, too, you might like The Luminaries if you haven’t yet read it. I thought it fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ola says:

      I have read the Luminaries and I really enjoyed it. The Secret History is on my TBR, and I read that a lot of people like it much more than the Goldfinch – I need to finally read it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

