The Girls by Emma Cline book cover

The Girls by Emma Cline

9780812998603Title: The Girls

Author: Emma Cline

Pub Date: June 14th, 2016

Honors:  

Rating: ★★★★★

Read on Goodreads.

Buy book on: Amazon

 


“That was part of being a girl–you were resigned to whatever feedback you’d get. If you got mad, you were crazy, and if you didn’t react, you were a bitch. The only thing you could do was smile from the corner they’d backed you into. Implicate yourself in the joke even if the joke was always on you.”
I rarely read book blurbs; I choose my reads mostly on intuition and cover (don’t judge a book by its cover? Please, my judging rarely disappointing me. And I think that if the cover is appealing to me, then it means that I’m the target audience for that book). So I had no idea what to expect when I started the book. I highly recommend reading books like this, when you find such an amazing book like this, not knowing anything about it is just the best! You can experience the book without any expectations, just knowing that you like the cover.
It is a fantastic read. I couldn’t stop reading it, for the first pages I was engrossed in the story. I was curious what;’s going to happen, what is this cult that they mentioned, what is this women story? It is written beautifully, so it was easy to get lost in the book. To feel what the character was feeling.
Descriptions are so tender, so pure, filled with Evie’s feelings that I could relate to, I could understand. She wasn’t just a character in a book; she was a person with complicated emotions. Emma Cline did a fantastic job of describing girls feelings of loneliness, of a need to belong, to be seen, to be loved. Showed how easy it is to lose one’s sense of self and replace it with one’s image of yourself in somebody’s else’s eyes.Do not read reviews, do not read blurbs, descriptions of the book. You do not need to know anything about this book before reading it. Trust your instinct and just read it. Get ready to experience California in the late 60s through teenage girl’s eyes.

 

2 thoughts on “The Girls by Emma Cline

Leave a Reply

