And I Darken by Kiersten White book cover

And I Darken by Kiersten White

And I DarkenAuthor: Kiersten White

Title: And I Darken

Pub Date: June 28th, 2016

Honors:  

Rating: ★★★★☆


This book surprised me. I was expecting a fast-paced adventure filled with fights, wars and deaths. I got that, but it was not the core of the book, at least for me. It was more about the growing up and life with all the struggles of a sibling – Lada and Radu. They are total opposites; Lada says that she is ‘no woman’, she can and loves to fight. Radu is much more delicate, beautiful, loved by everyone, able to talk with everyone and be trusted by them. I love how this book explores the private lives of the characters. We are with them throughout the childhood and teenage years (that back then were considered adult years), and we get to see how they change. How they love each other changes.

The story is very realistic, all the decisions that are made by the characters are strongly backed by the previous life events, by this character’s personality and desires. There was not a single moment when I was thinking -‘Wait, why the hell are you doing this like that?’. It all made sense, and in a lot of books I read recently, the decisions characters made didn’t make sense for me.

There is a very unusual love triangle, that is developing throughout the whole story, it takes us some time to realise all the characters desires and feelings toward the other person. It is definitively not a cliche young adult novel love triangle. This one is so much different! And it described and developed perfectly!

All the characters are marvellous and made you bewildered. You will always feel conflicted whether you should love or hate them, should you cheer them or wish them to fail. Lada, the main female character is the most interesting among them. She is a different kind of heroine; she is dedicated to serving her home country, her mother country of Wallachia. She is determined to do whatever it takes. And she has as many positive, as negative character traits. She is full of strong emotions; she makes quick emotional decisions. She’s an amazing character!

Highly recommended! You will relish the story! I am curious what will happen in the next instalment.

2 thoughts on “And I Darken by Kiersten White

Leave a Reply

