My Favourite Manson Girl by Alison Umminger

My Favourite Manson GirlAuthor: Alison Umminger

Title: My Favourite Manson Girl / American Title: American Girls

Pub Date: June 7th, 2016

Honors:   

Rating: ★☆☆☆☆


It is a very average book. It is written as if it says about some major life dramas, but it is not. Some parts are very poetic or philosophical but those parts don’t make much sense in the story. The story is poorly constructed. Events and characters are presented in a mediocre way. You don’t really know them, in some books not truly knowing characters works, but not here. I felt like some plot parts were introduced and never really explored.

I think introducing part about the Manson Killings and Manson girls was meant to create some kind of twisted parade between those events and the current America and live of teen girls. I don’t see it, I don’t think Manson plot did anything for the book. Oh well, I’m wrong. It makes it sound interesting in in a blurb, the possibility of some thrilling story with Manson killings in the background. But it’s not it. Manson killings seem to just be an excuse to write the book, but after some thinking the author decided that maybe writing about then killing themselves was cliché or something, so she puts life of a teen girl as a main plotline.

Overall, the story is about summer of Anna. She took her mother’s partner credit card number and booked herself plane ticket to LA where her sister lives. In a weird circumstances she is made to say in LA the whole summer and work to pay back for the ticket and get herself a new ticket to get back home. She ends up researching Manson family for film producer (who is also her sister’s ex-boyfriend) and hanging out on a TV series set.

11 thoughts on “My Favourite Manson Girl by Alison Umminger

  1. Lauren Busser says:

    I have heard about this book in contrast with The Girls by Emma Cline (a book that I reviewed about a month ago). I honestly feel like there is some blitz going on where everyone thinks books inspired by or including details about The Manson Family are guaranteed best sellers and I feel like I should be weirded out by that.

    Like

    • olaczerniecka says:

      I kind of like books that mention cults, and that is something one could be weirded out by 😉 But I get what you mean, adding some popular and controversial theme to the book and expect it to be a best seller is just lame. And it this book this whole Manson Family adds nothing to the story but adds a lot to a marketing…

      Like

      • Lauren Busser says:

        Don’t get me wrong. I can enjoy a good cult story as much as anyone, I just feel like publishing can sometimes rush for the next “trend” and the just happened to see it in the Manson family. It’s really no different than publishers trying to find “The next Gone Girl” just with a sturdy amount of real life facts and stories to tie in. I am all for it if it adds something to the story but if it is just for marketing I’m a little sour with it.

        Liked by 1 person

        • olaczerniecka says:

          Ah, ‘The next Gone Girl’…. how many of those were published in last years it’s impressive. I completely agree why you get sour over those marketing trick.

          Like

          • Lauren Busser says:

            Yea. I mean there have to be more inventive ways to market books. Seriously you can add any true crime scenario to a book as long as it has a purpose and I am all for it. But I have been more disappointed in comparisons than anything else. Especially where thrillers are concerned.

            Like

Leave a Reply

