Hot Little Hands by Abigail Ulman

hot little

Title: Hot Little Hands

Author: Abigail Ulman

Pub Date: June 2nd, 2016

Rating:  ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆


I did not enjoy that book. From around 20 percent in, I was just debating whether I should drop it or try to finish it. Eventually, I endured, and I read the whole book.

I enjoy short stories, but stories in this book didn’t have any power or message that was captivating. For some time I had an impression that the book was written by someone who’s English is not the first language. This is not necessarily a bad thing; English is not the first language for me. But in the book this impression I got means that the wording and the language were just lacking something, some ease of the text or the way sentences are built.

I was frustrated at the end of every single story. I would like them to finish with some message or leave me filled with emotions, or make me wonder about the story. Stories in the book were ending flat. That’s all I can say about them; they were flat.

Leave a Reply

