Free to fall

When we first meet North, I was a bit put off by his attitude. He was against the mainstream usage of Lux seemingly without any reason. The usage of Lux was normalized and took over the world, so sarcastic attitude towards it seemed off, and I didn’t like it. He had his chosen lifestyle and Rory had her, and I felt like he was feeling superior to other people who use Lux to make decisions. His overall attitude is condescending, but Rory likes him anyway and a romance quickly flourishes. Too quickly for my liking. Everything is way too intense way to quickly, and the words of love and sacrifice for others cause are declared after only few meetings.

The author also falls into common tropes of wealth girl, who gets into prestigious school because of her wealth, uses makeup, flirts and is a total opposite of our main character, who is not rich and slightly self conscious about her body. However, all this was quickly overshadowed by and amazing intrigue. Rory bit by bit finds out more about her mother’s history and is on her way to find out a disturbing truth behind the app Lux. The story is fascinating and fast paced. I was hooked on the story and it was hard to put down.

The story of society addicted to their devices and being dependent on an app to make any decision in their life is a scary vision and not something that is absolutely unimaginable. We are more and more dependent on the contact access to internet with its unending supply of information and entertainment. It’s only a matter of time before some company attempts to ‘ease’ our life from the burden of making decisions. Hopefully it will not turn out like in the book.

The Beholder by Anna Bright

Title: The Beholder

Author: Anna Bright

Pub Date: June 4th 2019 

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

View on Goodreads

A lush, sweepingly romantic YA debut perfect for fans of The Selection or Caraval

Selah has waited her whole life for a happily ever after. As the only daughter of the leader of Potomac, she knows her duty is to find the perfect match, a partner who will help secure the future of her people. Now that day has finally come.

But after an excruciatingly public rejection from her closest childhood friend, Selah’s stepmother suggests an unthinkable solution: Selah must set sail across the Atlantic, where a series of potential suitors awaits—and if she doesn’t come home engaged, she shouldn’t come home at all.

From English castle gardens to the fjords of Norge, and under the eye of the dreaded Imperiya Yotne, Selah’s quest will be the journey of a lifetime. But her stepmother’s schemes aren’t the only secrets hiding belowdecks…and the stakes of her voyage may be higher than any happy ending.Lush landscapes, dazzling romance, and captivating intrigue mark the first leg of this stunning alternate historical duology with richly drawn characters and unexpected twists at every port.

Continue reading

Don’t Touch My Hair by Emma Dabiri

Title: Don’t Touch My Hair

Author: Emma Dabiri

Pub Date: May 2nd 2019

My Rating: ★★★★☆

View on Goodreads

Straightened. Stigmatised. ‘Tamed’. Celebrated. Erased. Managed. Appropriated. Forever misunderstood. Black hair is never ‘just hair’.

This book is about why black hair matters.

Emma Dabiri takes us from pre-colonial Africa, through the Harlem Renaissance, Black Power and on to today’s Natural Hair Movement, the Cultural Appropriation Wars and beyond. We look at everything from hair capitalists like Madam C.J. Walker in the early 1900s to the rise of Shea Moisture today, from women’s solidarity and friendship to ‘black people time’, forgotten African scholars and the dubious provenance of Kim Kardashian’s braids.

The scope of black hairstyling ranges from pop culture to cosmology, from prehistoric times to the (afro)futuristic. Uncovering sophisticated indigenous mathematical systems in black hairstyles, alongside styles that served as secret intelligence networks leading enslaved Africans to freedom, Don’t Touch My Hair proves that far from being only hair, black hairstyling culture can be understood as an allegory for black oppression and, ultimately, liberation.

Continue reading

The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary

Title: The Flatshare

Author: Beth O’Leary

Pub Date: April 18th 2019

My Rating: ★★★★★

View on Goodreads

Tiffy and Leon share a flat
Tiffy and Leon share a bed
Tiffy and Leon have never met…
 

Tiffy Moore needs a cheap flat, and fast. Leon Twomey works nights and needs cash. Their friends think they’re crazy, but it’s the perfect solution: Leon occupies the one-bed flat while Tiffy’s at work in the day, and she has the run of the place the rest of the time. 

But with obsessive ex-boyfriends, demanding clients at work, wrongly imprisoned brothers and, of course, the fact that they still haven’t met yet, they’re about to discover that if you want the perfect home you need to throw the rulebook out the window…

Continue reading

Maresi by Maria Turtschaninoff

Title: Maresi

Series: The Red Abbey Chronicles #1

Author: Maria Turtschaninoff

Pub Date: 2014, English translation: 2017

My Rating: ★★★★☆

View on Goodreads

Maresi came to the Red Abbey when she was thirteen, in the Hunger Winter. Before then, she had only heard rumours of its existence in secret folk tales. In a world where girls aren’t allowed to learn or do as they please, an island inhabited solely by women sounded like a fantasy. But now Maresi is here, and she knows it is real. She is safe.

Then one day Jai tangled fair hair, clothes stiff with dirt, scars on her back arrives on a ship. She has fled to the island to escape terrible danger and unimaginable cruelty. And the men who hurt her will stop at nothing to find her.

Now the women and girls of the Red Abbey must use all their powers and ancient knowledge to combat the forces that wish to destroy them. And Maresi, haunted by her own nightmares, must confront her very deepest, darkest fears.

A story of friendship and survival, magic and wonder, beauty and terror, Maresi will grip you and hold you spellbound.

Continue reading

All the females in titles of upcoming mystery and thriller novels

Over the last years we escaped avalanche of books with ‘Gril’ in title to end up in a sea of novels with womans, daughters, mothers, shes, wifes and Mrs. in the titles (and some girls are still there). The trend is still trong in mystery and thriller novels, and here’s a list of some upcoming releases with some referance to a female in the title.

TitleWho’s the female in title?
Last Woman Standing by Amy Gentry Dana Diaz, aspiring stand‑up comedian
The Woman in the Blue Cloak by Deon MeyerDead woman discovered naked and washed in bleach, draped on a wall beside a picturesque road above Cape Town
The Woman in Our House by Andrew Hart Oaklynn Durst, babysitter
Continue reading

The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

Title: The Bride Test

Author: Helen Hoang

Pub Date: May 7th 2019

My Rating: ★★★★☆

View on Goodreads

From the critically acclaimed author of The Kiss Quotient comes a romantic novel about love that crosses international borders and all boundaries of the heart…

Khai Diep has no feelings. Well, he feels irritation when people move his things or contentment when ledgers balance down to the penny, but not big, important emotions—like grief. And love. He thinks he’s defective. His family knows better—that his autism means he just processes emotions differently. When he steadfastly avoids relationships, his mother takes matters into her own hands and returns to Vietnam to find him the perfect bride.

As a mixed-race girl living in the slums of Ho Chi Minh City, Esme Tran has always felt out of place. When the opportunity arises to come to America and meet a potential husband, she can’t turn it down, thinking this could be the break her family needs. Seducing Khai, however, doesn’t go as planned. Esme’s lessons in love seem to be working…but only on herself. She’s hopelessly smitten with a man who’s convinced he can never return her affection.

With Esme’s time in the United States dwindling, Khai is forced to understand he’s been wrong all along. And there’s more than one way to love.

Continue reading